Skip to content

S’mores Ice Cream Sandwiches

May 17, 2012

Sooo… that whole healthy alternative to frozen treats earlier this week? Well, I found something slightly more exciting, but not necessarily a “healthy alternative.” S’mores. Ice. Cream. Sandwiches. Mmmyeah.

When I think of s’mores I think of a lot of things: gooey, kind of messy, bonfires, summertime, infinite possibilities, and my best friend, Jenna’s Eighth Birthday.

As the youngest of five, I had a wild imagination and my knowledge of “adult things” would concern any friend’s parent. I was also terrified to the point of obsession with white vans, kidnappers, and rapists… Too many episodes of Law and Order: SVU, I suppose. Anyway, here we are a bunch of little girls sitting around a bonfire while listening to Jenna’s dad, Lou, tell innocent ghost stories. (L-R: Me, Jenna, and Whit at Jenna’s 8th birthday party and now.)

Lou is an excellent story-teller and the scene was perfect for a ghost story, dark and spooky on an empty beach. Granted this event took place almost 15 years ago and the details are somewhat foggy now, but I can strictly recall Lou telling a story about a dead man found on the side of Highway 17. Of course, my imagination was stirred and I started asking all sorts of questions, “Was he kidnapped?” and “Was he raped?!” Lou looked at me as if I were crazy while the rest of the party-goers asked what kidnap and rape meant. It turns out, the man had been burnt to death by toasted marshmallows… S’mores killed him. Not your best story, Lou. P.S. I’m sorry I made you define “rape” to a bunch of eight-year-olds.

So now that you know a little more about me, let’s talk food. I like s’mores and I like ice cream, so it should come as no surprise that I really like combining the two. Swoon-worthy.

Imagine the flavor of toasted marshmallows in the form of a creamy, frozen ice cream, sandwiched between two soft graham crackers, then dunked into a thick, creamy, milk chocolate ganache. The quintessential summer dessert just got a makeover and it looks gooooood. This good.

S’mores Ice Cream Bars by The Bite-Sized Baker:

10 ounces large marshmallows

6 cups vanilla ice cream

12 graham crackers, broken into squares

1 bag (11.5 ounces) milk chocolate morsels

1 cup heavy cream, scalded

1 cup graham cracker crumbs

  1. To make ice cream, roast marshmallows over an open flame or broil in oven until toasted and golden. In a blender, combine toasted marshmallows and ice cream until combined. Pour marshmallow-ice cream mixture into storage container and freeze until firm (around 8 hours).
  2. To assemble, spread ice cream over over one graham cracker square, smooth with back of spoon, and place a second graham cracker square on top. Cover with plastic wrap and place in freezer until firm.
  3. To make ganache, place chocolate morsels in a large non-reactive bowl. In a medium saucepan, heat cream until bubbles begin to form around the edge of the pan. Immediately remove the pan from the heat and pour it over the chocolate. Let chocolate and cream mixture sit for 3 minutes. With a wooden spoon, begin stirring small circles in the middle of the bowl. As the smooth mixture begins to form in the middle, slowly expand the size of the circle until the cream and chocolate is fully incorporated. Let ganache cool for 5 minutes.
  4. To finish, dip ice cream sandwiches into cooled ganache to coat, roll in graham cracker crumbs, set on a parchment-lined baking sheet, cover with plastic wrap, and place in freezer until chocolate has set.

Makes 12 servings.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2012 9:01 am

    Gonna have to try this! Landan would LOVE

  2. Linda Sims permalink
    May 17, 2012 9:46 am

    I hope you never grow up and find a real job. You might have to abandon thebitesized baker!

  3. Caitlin permalink
    May 17, 2012 11:19 am

    It’s so funny because I came to work today with graham crackers and nutella!!!! No joke. Its in my bag.

    • May 17, 2012 12:05 pm

      Like mother, like daughter… You would seriously love this though. You must make it!

      • Terrylee permalink
        May 17, 2012 10:03 pm

        How did you know I was dipping into the Nutella after everyone went to bed?!

  4. Rachel permalink
    May 17, 2012 12:19 pm

    This looks so good! A glorified s’more! I didn’t think they could get any better…

Trackbacks

  1. French Chocolate Macarons « thebitesizedbaker

Leave a comment