Skip to content

Pumpkin Pie Candy Cups

October 10, 2011

I hope you’re not getting sick of pumpkin yet, because I am nowhere near finished with using it!

I started making these little bite-sized candies at 6AM before practice last week. I was originally only planning on “painting” the chocolate shell, but they were just so fun to make I couldn’t stop there! Next thing I knew I had consumed the equivalent of three candy cups before practice…. Yes, I felt excellent while running. Why do you ask?

They are simple to make and really only require patience. Something I obviously do not possess... The outside shell is made of rich white chocolate and the creamy pumpkin filling tastes like real pumpkin pie, without the use of an oven! Bonus points! Plus, you can decorate them with cute little Halloween sprinkles to make them really festive!

While I definitely would not suggest eating these before 9AM, they were still a delicious and decorative seasonal treat!

Pumpkin Candy Cups by What Megan’s Making:

1 bag (12 oz) white chocolate chips

10 mini (2 inch) foil muffin liners

2 oz cream cheese, at room temperature

¼ cup pumpkin puree

1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

¼ cup powdered sugar

1 cup finely ground cinnamon graham cracker crumbs (a food processor works best here)

  1.  Melt the chocolate in a double boiler or in short time increments in the microwave. Make sure not to overheat.
  2. Using a small spoon, “paint” the melted chocolate all over the insides of 10 mini foil muffin liners. The layer of chocolate should be thick enough so that you cannot see through it, but thin enough that the cups remain upright and intact. Once I painted my cups I placed them in my mini muffin tin to make sure they kept their form. You will not use all of the melted chocolate in this step.
  3. Allow chocolate cups to cool and harden completely by placing on a tray in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.
  4. In a medium bowl, combine the cream cheese, pumpkin puree, and vanilla extract and mix until smooth.
  5. Thoroughly mix in the powdered sugar and pumpkin pie spice, then stir in the graham cracker crumbs.
  6. Using a mini ice cream scoop or a small spoon, evenly divide the pumpkin mixture between the hardened chocolate cups. Smooth the top to create an even surface.
  7. Re-melt the remaining chocolate if needed and distribute amongst the filled cups, smoothing the tops and making sure the chocolate reaches all the way to the edges in order to seal the cups. Chill in the refrigerator until set, about 1-2 hours. Unwrap the cups to serve. Store in an air-tight container in the fridge.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    October 10, 2011 2:17 pm

    These look tasty! I think I could actually manage to make these on my own….

    • October 10, 2011 4:39 pm

      They are pretty easy to make… I would use the candy molds mom has to make them because they are extremely rich.

  2. October 12, 2011 1:48 pm

    Oh my word these look absolutely wonderful. I love your blog and I am your newest follower.

    xo

Trackbacks

  1. Baked Pumpkin Doughnuts « thebitesizedbaker

Leave a comment