Skip to content

Pumpkin Chili

October 8, 2011

I need to get off the computer and start doing some real work. Talk about senioritis, I thought it was only a high school thing? Guess not.

There are two culprits to blame… and my negligence is not one of them.

First culprit, Pinterest. It is a virtual pinboard that is seriously addicting. I personally love it for saving recipes, but I also use it for books I’ve read, DIY projects,  places I’d like to travel, health and fitness, decorating ideas, and fashion. Get to know me, follow me, or you know… whatever.

Second culprit, Pumpkin Chili. Well, mostly anything having to do with pumpkin, but I have an obsession with chili and cornbread. As soon as the temperature starts falling, it’s the only thing I want to eat. It’s warm, hearty, and versatile. I’m not sure there’s anything not to love about chili… Unless you’re one of those people who don’t like beans and legumes. And in that case, I’m not sure I understand you.

Whenever I’ve made chili in the past I typically throw in anything/everything I have on hand, but this time I wanted to add a little seasonal flavor. Why pumpkin, of course! Pumpkin puree, pumpkin beer, and pumpkin spices. Oh, yes!

‘Tis the season of pumpkin.

Pumpkin Chili by the Bite-Sized Baker:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 ½ pounds ground turkey

1 small yellow onion, chopped

½ red bell pepper, chopped

½ yellow bell pepper, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup pumpkin puree

½ cup tomato sauce

1 can diced tomatoes, drained

1 can black beans

1 can kidney beans

½ cup-1 cup pumpkin beer

1-2 tablespoons chili powder

½ teaspoon chipotle powder

1 teaspoon cumin

½ teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon pepper

  1. Coat a skillet with olive oil and heat over medium heat. Add the onion and bell pepper and sauté for 4-5 minutes
  2. Place the turkey in a skillet and cook until evenly brown. Add the garlic and stir briefly before transferring to slow cooker.
  3. Place the turkey in a slow cooker, and mix in pumpkin puree, tomato sauce, kidney beans, and black beans. Stir to combine.
  4. Add in the beer and season with chili powder, chipotle powder, cumin, cinnamon, salt, and pepper, stirring once more.
  5. Cover, and cook 8 hours on Low.
Makes 6-8 servings.
21 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    October 10, 2011 2:20 pm

    I want this right now!! looks like my kind of comfort food 🙂

  2. October 11, 2011 12:04 pm

    Claire, This looks amazing!

  3. October 12, 2011 12:21 am

    Intersting mix! I love beans and legumes too…By the way, what is that white-creamy sauce on top?
    Wanna give your recipe a try…

    • October 12, 2011 9:23 am

      Thank you, Anna! It’s actually plain Greek Yogurt, just a healthy substitute for sour cream!

  4. October 12, 2011 8:55 am

    I’ve been wanting to try out a pumpkin chili this year….particularly one with pumpkin beer. This one looks fantastic – thanks!

  5. Terryt1955 permalink
    October 12, 2011 11:30 am

    Looks great! Sounds wonderful! But where does one find pumpkin beer (I guess you can say I’m not a beer drinker but will make the exception for this recipe!)

    • Lory permalink
      October 12, 2011 3:07 pm

      Hi Terry, I get my pumpkin beer from Wholefoods or Trader Joe’s. Not sure what area you are in, but it is seasonal. Blue Moon Ale makes one, and a few other brewers. You might become a beer drinker, at least in the fall if you try them!

  6. Elana permalink
    October 21, 2011 8:50 am

    This looks wonderful, how many servings is in one batch?

    • October 21, 2011 10:10 am

      Thanks for commenting, Elana! It makes around 6-8 servings (~1 cup). I’ll edit it on the post!

  7. jessie permalink
    October 30, 2011 12:54 pm

    I have been wanting to make this recipe for a while now but couldn’t find a cold enough day! I tested it out yesterday and it was perfect timing- assemble the recipe over morning coffee and it will be ready for dinner! I added jalapenos and some red cayenne pepper to give it extra kick and made a jalapeno cheddar cornbread to go with it. Delish!

    • October 31, 2011 10:50 am

      Yummm.. You just made me wish I had this chili at my apartment right now…. Cornbread included.

  8. Matthew permalink
    October 30, 2011 12:55 pm

    This recipe made me believe that your sister can actually cook. Thanks!

  9. Joy permalink
    October 8, 2012 7:58 pm

    Oh man, I’ve been craving a hearty, homemade chili for awhile now, and a trip to Autumnized Trader Joe’s yesterday has got me craving all things pumpkin–including pumpkin beer! PERFECT! I wonder if pumpkin puree is something sold in stores, though, because pureeing a pumpkin intimidates me!

    • October 9, 2012 12:17 pm

      No need to puree a fresh pumpkin, I just used canned pumpkin (i.e., Libby’s). Sorry for the confusion!

      • Joy permalink
        October 26, 2012 3:51 pm

        Oh, durp. You know, all this time I thought the canned pumpkin at the store had sugar and other such things added. Dumb. I so want to make this this weekend, and have a truckload of pumpkin puree left over to use. YUMMERS! Are all ‘cans’ (beans, diced tomatoes) mentioned of the same size, like the typical 14/15 (??) oz cans?

      • October 26, 2012 6:31 pm

        I completely understand! You always want to stay away from any “pie filling” because that is usually packed with sugar and other additional ingredients. All cans are the standard 15 oz. cans but you add more or less depending on your preferences! Also, LOVED your pictures of pumpkin cinnamon rolls! I am dying to make cinnamon rolls from scratch for the holiday season!

  10. Rachel permalink
    September 9, 2013 6:23 pm

    Hi this sounds so good and I have been looking for a recipe like this. I am curious, since it is in a slow cooker and part of the draw of a slow cooker is not having to precook meat, is it necessary to cook the meat before or can you just mix it up with the rest of the ingredients and let it cook? Thanks for such a great sounding recipe, I can’t wait to make it! Rachel

Trackbacks

  1. Sweet Potato Chili « thebitesizedbaker
  2. Baked Pumpkin Doughnuts « thebitesizedbaker
  3. Pumpkin Coffee Cake « thebitesizedbaker

Leave a Reply

