Skip to content

Crispy Stuffed French Toast

September 5, 2011

Whenever I go on a road trip I crave one thing. Cereal.

Last week, when I was traveling all over the state of Ohio for our team’s games, I fell victim to the merciless desire for Corn Flakes cereal. Yes, I thought it was a weird craving too… But before I knew it I was at the grocery store purchasing a huge box of Corn Flakes and soymilk.

Unfortunately, I am a cereal-binge eater. The moment I open a box of cereal I can’t stop eating it until I’ve consumed every last crumb. It is really unfortunate and not a pretty sight, so I tend to stay away from eating cereal altogether. I know, it’s a tough life.

For some unknown reason, my cereal-binging habits were non-existent at the time and I was left with a huge box of cereal, barely touched! I think it was the product choice, something about 2 grams of sugar doesn’t scream exciting, if you know what I mean.

Of course, being the person I am, I took the remnants of a healthy cereal and turned it into something not so healthy, but oh, so scrumptious! Sinfully sweet and melt-in-your-mouth delicious.

**Beware it’s not the most photogenic food, but I’m positive your taste-buds don’t care about appearance!

Crispy Chocolate Peanut Butter French Toast inspired by How Sweet It Is:

French Toast:

4 slices of day old French bread

2 tablespoons butter

3 whole eggs

¼ cup whole milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

½ tablespoon cinnamon

Pinch of salt

¼ cup sugar

1 cup crushed Corn Flakes

Filling:

2 ripe bananas

2 tablespoons peanut butter

1 tablespoon brown sugar

Garnish:

Melted peanut butter mixed with syrup

Banana slices

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, cinnamon, salt, and vanilla.
  2. On a plate add corn flakes and sugar, and mix well.
  3. In a small bowl, mix together bananas, peanut butter, and brown sugar.
  4. Starting with one piece of bread, turn it so the bottom edge is facing up at you.  Cut a pocket with a sharp knife, leaving the edges and top of the bread intact.  Repeat with each slice of bread, then fill each pocket with about 1/4 of the filling mixture.
  5. Preheat a large skillet on medium-low heat. Add stuffed bread to egg mixture and let soak on each side for about 60 seconds. Remove from egg mixture and thoroughly dredge through corn flake crumbs. Add 1 tablespoon butter to skillet and add bread. Fry until golden brown on each side, about 2-3 minutes each. Repeat with additional bread, using remaining tablespoon of butter for the next 2 pieces.
  6. Top french toast with additional banana slices, melted peanut butter, and syrup
No comments yet

Leave a comment