Skip to content

Chocolate French Silk Pancakes

September 13, 2011

The first big fight my boyfriend, Drake, and I ever got in was over pie. French. Silk. Pie.

It was Drake’s birthday and I wanted to surprise him by making his favorite dessert, French Silk Pie. Since it was his birthday, I was not going to take any short-cuts on this recipe, even if that included grinding pecans into teeny tiny crumbs with a hammer for a crumbly pecan crust. After making everything from scratch, without a food-processor or mixer, I placed it into the fridge to chill overnight.

I was so excited to present Drake with his birthday treat, topped with homemade Chantilly Cream and chocolate shavings. I cut him a huge piece, anticipating his reaction to that velvety-smooth, chocolate pie filling.

Let’s just say, his action was not pure delight. Not even close. In fact, his first words were, “This doesn’t taste like my French Silk Pie.” I was livid. I took the piece of pie right from his hands and dumped it in the garbage and then proceeded to destroy the rest of the pie. I had worked all night, grinding stupid pecans for that damn pie crust! He immediately tried retracting his statement by saying how thoughtful and appreciative he was over the gesture, but there was nothing he could say to negate his initial reaction of distaste. I told him it was “the worst acceptance of a present in boyfriend history!!!” and then immediately demanded him to leave my apartment.

The next day as an apology, Drake bought me a pie from Bennison’s Bakery and we quickly made up afterwards. French Silk Pie is now an ongoing joke between us; every year for his birthday I use a different recipe for French Silk Pie and Drake pretends to like it more than the store-bought stuff.

Anyway, when I saw this recipe for Chocolate French Silk Pancakes by How Sweet It Is, I had to make it. Could these pancakes really parallel the taste of that infamous pie?! And who better to judge the comparison between the pie and ‘cakes than Drake?

Drake was more than grateful to be the official taste-tester and loved them. For the record, these pancakes are soft, fluffy pillows of silky-smooth chocolate, hence the name, Chocolate French Silk Pancakes. Although I loved them, I didn’t think the comparison between pie and pancakes was dead-on because they were not as sweet. But top it with whipped cream and chocolate sauce and you’ll think you’re eating French Silk Pie!

Chocolate French Silk Pancakes by How Sweet It Is:

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (or all-purpose)

¼ cup powdered sugar

¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 heaping teaspoons baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

2 eggs, well beaten

2 cups light coconut milk, plus more if needed

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Stir together flour, cocoa powder, sugar, salt, and baking powder. Add eggs, milk, and vanilla. Stir until dry ingredients are combined and batter is smooth. Preheat a skillet on medium heat. Drop 1.4 cup of batter on skillet and cook until bubbles form. Flip and cook until lightly browned.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    October 10, 2011 7:31 pm

    These look really yummy. Maybe I’ll try them this weekend! I love pancakes, but I bet these will be a tad tastier than Bisquick…

  2. Rachel permalink
    October 10, 2011 7:32 pm

    However, I’m a little unsure what “heaping” is suppose to mean. Please do explain 😉

  3. November 27, 2011 8:58 pm

    Omg I made the same recipe 😛
    Good to know Im not the only one absolutely obsessed with these babies 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. No Boys Allowed, I Mean It! | Passionate Christian Marriage

Leave a comment