Skip to content

Gourmet Caramel Apples

October 24, 2011

Bittersweet news, my friends. I finally went to McDonald’s with Drake to get that breakfast sandwich I have been craving for the past four months… Let’s just say, it has nothing on my Jack-o-Pumpkin Breakfast Sandwich.

Anyway… Last weekend my friends and I decorated caramel apples at my apartment.

And by “decorated,” I mean, I strategically painted and placed candies on my caramel apples while Drake dunked his into different bowls of candy and poured sprinkles all over them. He’s special. (See below) 

Fortunately, caramel apples are fun to make and equally delicious no matter what your decorating skills are!

If you haven’t properly welcomed Fall yet, I suggest you start by making Gourmet Caramel Apples, complete with Snickers, Reese’s, Oreos, Pecans, Sprinkles, Milk Chocolate, and White Chocolate…. Because plain old caramel apples aren’t quite sweet enough 😉

I don’t know if it’s sad or really cool that a bunch of 20-something year-olds had a Caramel-Apple-Making party that did not include alcohol. Talk about good old-fashioned fun.

Gourmet Caramel Apples by The Bite-Sized Baker:

10 extra large Granny Smith apples

10 popsicle sticks or chopsticks (Thank you, Hunter for this genius idea!)

3 (14 ounce) packages of individually wrapped caramels, unwrapped

6 tablespoons milk

2 bags chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate, semisweet, and white chocolate)

Chopped nuts, candies, cookies, etc. for decorating.

  1. Wash, scrub, and dry apples. Wipe off any excess water to make sure caramel will stick well.
  2. Remove the stem from apples and insert a popsicle stick or chopstick into the top.
  3. Line a baking sheet with waxed paper and spray with non-stick cooking spray.
  4. In a medium saucepan, melt caramel and milk over low heat until melted and smooth, stirring frequently. You may need to add more milk at this point to thin out the caramel.
  5. Dip apples into melted caramel one at a time, until well coated. Let excess drip off and place apples on prepared sheet to set.
  6. When the caramel sets, melt chocolate chips in a double boiler slowly over low heat until melted and smooth, stirring frequently.
  7. Dip apples into melted chocolate one at a time, until well coated. Let excess drip off and decorate chocolate-caramel apples with chopped candies, cookies, and/or nuts. Arrange the apples on a nonstick or waxed paper-lined cookie sheet and let cool.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Terryt1955 permalink
    October 24, 2011 10:49 am

    I’ve never been a fan of caramel apples but even these look amazing enough to try! Cute picture of your friends lining up to decorate their apples.

  2. jessie permalink
    October 24, 2011 12:18 pm

    I’m totally going to make this at my Pumpkin Carving party this week!

Leave a comment