Skip to content

Golden Grahams S’mores Bars

June 5, 2015

My sister, Rachel, is a third grade teacher and yesterday was her school district’s last day before summer break, which got me to thinking about my third grade experience…

I remember third grade like it was yesterday. I went to Los Alamitos elementary school and my teacher was Mrs. Compton and that’s where I met and fell in love with my elementary school crush, John Germaine. My math teacher was Mrs. LeBlanc and I learned multiplication and division that year. I joined my first competitive soccer team, the Almaden Express, where I met my best friend, Whitney Reyes. It was also the year I quit Girl Scouts, claiming I had “too much homework and soccer practice.” It was a great year.

 

IMG_2773

 

Like any child, the last week of school was always my favorite, when activities consisted solely of getting your crush to sign your yearbook, cleaning your desk, attending pizza and ice cream parties, and planning your endless summer vacation.

Now that third grade is a mere 16 years ago (WHAT???), I find myself relating more to the adults in this situation. Summer vacation must be a NIGHTMARE for parents.

 

IMG_2779

 

Sure, kids can occupy themselves for the first two weeks of summer and if you’re lucky, they’re involved in a swim team or a day camp for the duration of summer… But after that?! Kids get restless and suddenly YOU’RE responsible for providing them endless amounts of entertainment for the rest of the summer! Unless you’re like my parents and you have five children so they can entertain each other and run around like animals in the neighborhood and you just blow your whistle to make them come home when dinner is ready… But if you’re not out of your mind, you’re going to need activities to do with them… And what better way to entertain a child than to create something together in the kitchen? Something that is simple, traditional, and representative of an American summer… Something like Golden Grahams S’mores Bars.

 

IMG_2778

 

Like most Americans, I have an affinity with s’mores. I like them in their traditional form, maybe with an added Reese’s Cup for good measure, but I love them in the form of ice cream, cookies, bars, Oreos, tarts, cakes, cheesecakes, Starbucks Frappuccinos, and basically whatever else I can get my hands on. I’ve made so many different variations of s’mores that I’ve lost count, so naturally, when I saw this original Betty Crocker recipe, I was very intrigued. So intrigued that I packed a box of Golden Grahams, mini marshmallows, chocolate chips, and corn syrup in my suitcase so I could make them in Italy.

 

IMG_2784_2

 

These Golden Grahams S’mores Bars are more or less a variation of the original Rice Krispies Treats, replacing the crisped rice cereal with Golden Grahams and melting chocolate chips into the marshmallow mixture. I was planning on eating the entire pan myself because Tony claims he hates Rice Krispies Treats, but even he couldn’t keep his paws off of these treats. They were so good, so simple and easy to make, and they don’t require an oven! I mean, if Tony can help in the kitchen, than your eight-year-old can help too!

 

Golden Grahams S’mores Bars recipe by Betty Crocker:

8 cups Golden Grahams™ cereal

5 cups miniature marshmallows

1 ½ cups milk chocolate chips

¼ cup light corn syrup

5 tablespoons butter or margarine

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup miniature marshmallows, if desired

1 cup milk chocolate chips

  1. In a large mixing bowl, measure cereal. Butter 13×9-inch pan. In a large saucepan melt 5 cups marshmallows, the chocolate chips, corn syrup and butter, stirring often until melted and smooth. Stir in vanilla.
  2. Pour over cereal; quickly toss until completely coated. Stir in 1 cup of marshmallows and milk chocolate chips.
  3. Press mixture evenly in pan, using buttered back of spoon. Let stand uncovered at least 1 hour, or refrigerate if you prefer a firmer bar. Store loosely covered at room temperature up to 2 days.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

