Skip to content

Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Stuffed Cookies with Sea Salt

June 3, 2015

Friends! It’s been a while and I have some fun updates and some fun rants! Fun in my eyes, at least. I think Tony wants to scratch my eyeballs out.

 

IMG_2739

 

Anyway, I flew home two weeks ago to spend time with my family and to confirm our wedding venue… Finding a wedding venue is kind of like clothing shopping, in my opinion, which I hate. I hate going to multiple stores, browsing through racks of clothing, trying on clothes, and being disappointed. I prefer online shopping to the real thing so I treated wedding venue hunting like online shopping… If I read enough descriptions and reviews and looked at enough pictures, we could just base our decision off of that. I did most of our venue research online and narrowed it down to one venue so that when I went home we would just have to tour one venue, finalize the details, and then enjoy the rest of the week. Silly me… The venue was beautiful, but the customer service kind of sucked, and now we’re back to square one and I’m back in Italy. Yaaaay.

 

IMG_2700

 

I wasn’t overly concerned that this one venue didn’t work out, but once I returned to Italy and started contacting other wedding venues, the reality of wedding planning hit me. Planning 12 months in advance wasn’t early enough! Venues, photographers, and caterers were already completely booked for the next summer. Bananas!

So for the past week since I’ve been home, I’ve been staying up until the wee morning hours (the jet-leg didn’t help either) researching and emailing wedding venues and vendors and generally just annoying Tony with my ever-changing requests… Fortunately, Italy was ruled out early on so we at least know our wedding is going to be in the United States, but we still don’t have a clue where in the United States… And then we still have to decide on color schemes, florals, table settings, decor, menus, and entertainment! But of course, this isn’t all bad, after all, I loooove planning, but I’m just terrible with making decisions and even worse at decorating and styling. Thank goodness for my sisters!

 

IMG_2695

 

In other fun news, my sister, Rachel, and her boyfriend, KC, are visiting the first two weeks of July so I have been planning and perfecting their itinerary like a mad woman! This will be the first time either of them have visited Europe so I want to make it a trip of a lifetime! I had promised a post on Lake Como when we went in April, but we decided on spending a few nights in Lake Como with my sister and KC instead of the Amalfi Coast so that post will have to wait until July!

 

IMG_2708_2

 

My last update is a bit of a tease… I am working on a SUPER exciting project with the founders of Love and Olive Oil, which I will announce shortly, but in the name of exciting things, I made their Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Stuffed Cookies with Sea Salt. Oh, my tasty goodness. I’m telling you, these cookies are some of the best cookies I’ve ever made in my life! I made them in Italy before I went home and ate 6 of the two dozen I made in one night… and then I made them again while I was home and my family freaked out over them. These cookies are something else! Peanut butter and chocolate is always a winning combination, but the sprinkling of sea salt on top of these cookies make these cookies heavenly and leaving you wanting just one or two or six more, which is perfect because this recipe makes two dozen!

 

IMG_2711_2

 

Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Stuffed Cookies with Sea Salt by Love and Olive Oil:

Peanut Butter Filling:

½ cup creamy peanut butter, room temperature

¼ cup powdered sugar, sifted

¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

1/8 teaspoon salt (increase to ¼ teaspoon if using unsalted peanut butter)

Cookies:

1 ¾ cup all-purpose flour

½ cup dark or Dutch-processed cocoa powder, sifted

¾ teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup packed light brown sugar

½ cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

½ cup mini chocolate chips

Large flake salt (such as Maldon), for sprinkling

  1. In a small mixing bowl, mix together peanut butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, and salt until it forms a smooth paste. Dollop teaspoons (grape-sized balls) of filling mixture onto a parchment or foil-lined baking sheet. Freeze for at least 30 minutes or until firm enough to handle.
  2. In a large bowl mix flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt until combined.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, mix together butter and sugars until fully incorporated. Beat in eggs and vanilla until smooth. Gradually add the dry ingredients until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.
  4. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate cookie dough for 1 hour until firm enough to handle.
  5. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Roll 1½ tablespoons of dough and flatten the dough to make a flat circle. Place 1 teaspoon of chilled peanut butter mixture in the middle then place another flat circle of cookie dough on top. Crimp the edges to seal and roll into a ball.
  6. Place dough balls on cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, 2 inches apart and bake 11-12 minutes or until the centers are just set. Remove from oven, sprinkle with sea salt immediately, and let cool on wire racks.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bryce Montgomery permalink
    June 3, 2015 11:25 am

    Hi Claire,

    I love getting your updates! Have you ever considered creating a monthly subscription “box” that features a collection of treats? My friend does a really compelling subscription box for the chocolate he makes . I bring this up because I really want one of those cookies!!

    Congrats on the engagement! 🙂

    -Bryce

  2. June 3, 2015 7:56 pm

    Okay those look like the bomb. Wish I could reach through the screen and grab one 🙂

  3. Rachel permalink
    June 4, 2015 12:41 am

    Yay! I made it into your blog!

Leave a Reply

