Skip to content

The Darkest Chocolate Ice Cream

April 7, 2015

For the past few months my good friend Lara, whom I introduce to everyone as “the girl who speaks eight languages,” and I have participated in “Baking Wednesdays,” and sometimes “Blogging Thursdays” when it’s a two-day job. Anyone that is willing to walk around the entire city in search of Guinness beer and waffle cones, style food, and help critique photos for 5+ hours is a friend for life, in my opinion!

 

IMG_1839_2

 

It saddens me to say that Lara is moving back to Munich this week and I am pretty much depressed. Also, because now I can’t always use her as my translator when talking to strangers… Thankfully we have many mini trips planned across Europe in the next few months, which I’ll get to posting eventually!

 

IMG_1826_2

 

Lara and I are both chocolate people. Whenever I go out for ice cream, gelato, frozen yogurt, frozen custard, etc., I always go with a chocolate flavor combination… If I wanted something fruity, I would make a smoothie... Seeing how this will be my third ice cream post in the past month and I am in full mode ice cream making season, I found it rather alarming that I have NEVER made a chocolate-based ice cream in all of my years of making ice cream!

 

IMG_1831_2

 

Since this past Wednesday was our last Baking Wednesday we wanted to make something epic… and we decided for our last baking day, we would need to make a chocolate ice cream. We exchanged ideas about German Chocolate Cake, Rocky Road, Peanut Butter and Chocolate among others, but we ultimately landed on a simple and classic Dark Chocolate Ice Cream. Sometimes simplicity is best.

 

IMG_1829

 

This is a simple, straight-forward recipe and compared to last week’s Lemon Buttermilk Frozen Yogurt it is a breeze to make! Thank goodness, because I don’t like waiting for ice cream. It is an ultra creamy, smooth, rich, full of chocolate, and fudge-like ice cream.. Think truffle meets mousse. The recipe calls for bittersweet chocolate (55% to 70%), but I think you could get away with an even higher cocoa percentage like 85% to get a truly dark chocolate ice cream while only slightly compromising the sweetness.

 

IMG_1836

 

IMG_1837_2

 

I promise, I will eventually get around to posting recipes other than ice cream, but for now I am just having too much fun with my ice cream machine… and also because my pants are getting too tight.

 

IMG_1842

 

The Darkest Chocolate Ice Cream from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home:

Chocolate Syrup:

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

½ cup brewed coffee

½ cup granulated sugar

1 ½ ounces bittersweet chocolate (55% to 70%), finely chopped

Ice Cream Base:

2 cups whole milk

1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon cornstarch

1½ ounces (3 tablespoons) cream cheese, softened

1/8 teaspoon fine sea salt

1 cup heavy cream

½ cup granulated sugar

2 tablespoons light corn syrup

  1. To make the chocolate syrup, combine the cocoa, coffee, and sugar in a small saucepan, bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring to dissolve the sugar, and boil for 30 seconds. Remove from the heat, add the chocolate, and let stand for 5 minutes. Stir the syrup until smooth. Set aside.
  2. To make the ice cream, mix about 2 tablespoons of the milk with the cornstarch in a small bowl to make a smooth slurry. Whisk the cream cheese, warm chocolate syrup, and salt in a medium bowl until smooth. Fill a large bowl with ice and water.
  3. Combine the remaining milk, the cream, sugar, and corn syrup in a 4-quart saucepan, bring to a rolling boil over medium-high heat, and boil for 4 minutes precisely. Remove from the heat and gradually whisk in the cornstarch slurry.
  4. Bring the mixture back to a boil over medium-high heat and cook, stirring with a heatproof spatula, until slightly thickened, about 1 minute. Remove from heat.
  5. Gradually whisk the hot milk mixture into the cream cheese until smooth. Pour the mixture into a 1-gallon Ziploc freezer bag and submerge the sealed bag in the ice bath. Let stand, adding more ice as necessary, until cold, about 30 minutes.
  6. Pour the ice cream base into the frozen canister and begin to spin the ice cream until thick and creamy.
  7. Pack the ice cream into a storage container, press a sheet of parchment paper directly against the surface, and seal with an airtight lid. Freeze in the coldest part of your freezer until firm, at least four hours.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2015 5:44 pm

    Hi! Do I understand correctly that this does not require an ice cream machine? I am confused because you mentioned above that you have been using your machine, but it is not mentioned in the recipe instructions.

    • April 8, 2015 11:45 pm

      Hi Polina, my apologies! I just edited the instructions to include the use of the ice cream machine. Thanks for pointing that out!

  2. Janne permalink
    April 12, 2015 1:25 pm

    Hi, I need to get low on sugar but crave good ice cream obviously 😉 do you have any experience of using rice syrup (I could eat that…) instead of sugar?
    thanks a lot for your help and a recipe where I won’t need a ice cream machine!
    Looks delicious 🙂

    • April 13, 2015 8:44 am

      Hi Janne, I don’t have experience using rice syrup so I’m afraid I can’t be of any help. Also, this ice cream does require an ice cream machine :(! I made a mistake when I first posted the recipe, but edited the instructions to include the use of the ice cream machine. Sorry for the confusion!

Leave a Reply

