Skip to content

Soft and Chewy M&M Chocolate Chip Cookies

April 4, 2015

When I feel like treating myself to dessert, which is frequent, I always prefer a baked good over a piece of candy. However, there are times when candy just calls to me and that’s typically when it’s holiday-themed. Maybe it’s the special seasonal colors or the packaging, but I just lose my cool when they start stocking holiday candy on the shelves.

 

IMG_1158

 

I personally think holiday candy is the best because manufacturers can’t get away with selling Easter candy year-round, so you know it’s fresh(er) than the regular stuff… I’ve had one too many experiences with eating stale M&Ms.

The first time I made these cookies, I was at home in California and I used pink Valentine’s Day M&Ms and used them as a base of a Valentine’s Day themed “Slutty Brownie.” I made several cookies with the leftover dough and was rewarded with thick, puffy, and tall cookies. My family went nuts over them.

 

IMG_1150

 

Since Target was on top of their game when I visited in February and they were already selling Easter candy just three days after Valentine’s Day, I stocked up so I could recreate these cookies in Italy!

But as you may notice by the pictures, these cookies are not thick, puffy, and tall– despite chilling the dough overnight… But just disregard that because my oven sucks and I always have to eyeball my butter since the United States is the only country that measures butter by volume and not weight… so maybe I added a few more grams than I was supposed to– I still ate half of them during the photo process.

 

IMG_1151

 

For any of you who are still looking for a last-minute dessert to share this weekend, these cookies are simple, soft, chewy, and buttery and perfectly festive for the holiday! Or any other holiday really… just make sure your M&Ms are seasonally appropriate.

 

Soft and Chewy M&M Chocolate Chip Cookies by Averie Cooks:

¾ cup unsalted butter, softened

¾ cup light brown sugar, packed

¼ cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

¼ cup instant vanilla pudding mix (not sugar-free and not ‘cook & serve’), OR use 2 teaspoons cornstarch in place of pudding mix

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

¾ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

¾ cup milk chocolate M&Ms

½ cup milk chocolate M&Ms, optional for placing on top of dough mounds

  1. To make the cookies, in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment beat the butter, sugars, egg, vanilla, and beat for 4 minute, until creamed and well combined.
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the flour,pudding mix, salt, and baking soda. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture on low speed until just combined. Add the chocolate chips and ¾ cup M&Ms and mix until just combined
  3. Scoop the dough in ~¼ cup-measurements, about 16 equal-sized mounds. Flatten the mound slightly, and add about 1 tablespoon M&Ms to the top of each mound. Place mounds onto the prepared baking sheets and leave about 2″ between the cookies. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, up to 5 days. Do not bake with unchilled dough because cookies will bake thinner, flatter, and be more prone to spreading.
  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and bake the cookies for 10-12 minutes, or until edges and tops are just set. Do not overbake! Cookies will firm as they cool. Allow cookies to rest on the baking sheet for at least 5-10 minutes before serving them.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Judith Bassoul permalink
    April 4, 2015 8:35 am

    Let me know what I can bring you!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. April 4, 2015 12:47 pm

    They look yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

