Skip to content

The Buckeye State Ice Cream

March 19, 2015

There are few things I enjoy as much as ice cream. If it were acceptable, I would eat ice cream for every meal… I would have severe health issues after a while, but dammit, I would be happy for the first few weeks!

 

IMG_1710

 

After purchasing a European KitchenAid for 3x the price of my American one, I was STOKED to learn they used the same attachments so I didn’t have to spend even more money on replacement parts. Unfortunately, this was not the case, which I quickly learned last year when making my first batch of ice cream… Long story short, what should have been a 30-minute machine-churning process turned into  60-minute hand-churning mess. I felt justified to eat the entire batch of ice cream, which was nice, but I never got around to make any other flavors last year, which was heartbreaking.

 

IMG_1706_2

 

Fortunately, Tony is a wise man and he knows that in order to keep me happy, I need ice cream… I knew he was a keeper when he would always save the last bite of ice cream for me– THAT is true love. Anyway, last week he surprised me with the European KitchenAid Ice Cream Maker Attachment and it is safe to say that this is the best gift ever. The gift that keeps on giving! I was so excited that I stayed up the next three nights until the wee morning hours revising and adding to my “Ice Cream Flavors” list.

 

IMG_1707

 

Normally, I reserve ice cream making season for summer; it’s a food policy of mine, like never ordering chicken or pasta at a restaurant (with the exception of dining out in Italy), never ordering Pumpkin Spice Lattes until they’re served in seasonal cups, or never posting photos of unmanicured hands holding food. But since I have an excessively long list of potential ice cream flavor combinations (that I didn’t even get to touch last year!), I figured I should take advantage of the head-start… This situation might get sticky.

 

IMG_1713

 

I started this year’s ice cream season with The Buckeye State from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams. The pairing of The Buckeye State and Salty Caramel is my all-time favorite Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream combinations, it is the perfect combination of sweet and salty. When I first got her cookbook, I attempted to make Salty Caramel and ended up burning the caramel… damn dry-burn technique… so for the sake of creating new flavors I made The Buckeye State ice cream and it is absolute perfection.

Although, I wouldn’t consider myself a Buckeye State fan, those people are actually insane, I will always support the winning combination of peanut butter and chocolate. I personally looooove this flavor because it’s a subtle peanut butter flavor with a touch of honey and flecks of dark chocolate.

 

The Buckeye State Ice Cream from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home:

2 cups whole milk

1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon cornstarch

1½ ounces (3 tablespoons) cream cheese, softened

½ cup unsalted natural peanut butter

½ teaspoon fine sea salt

1¼ cups heavy cream

2/3 cup granulated sugar

2 tablespoons light corn syrup

2 tablespoons honey

4 ounces chocolate (50% to 70% cocoa), chopped

  1. To make the ice cream, mix about 2 tablespoons of the milk with the cornstarch in a small bowl to make a smooth slurry. Whisk the cream cheese, peanut butter, and salt in a medium bowl until smooth. Fill a large bowl with ice and water.
  2. Combine the remaining milk, the cream, sugar, corn syrup, and honey in a 4-quart saucepan, bring to a rolling boil over medium-high heat, and boil for 4 minutes precisely. Remove from the heat and gradually whisk in the cornstarch slurry.
  3. Bring the mixture back to a boil over medium-high heat and cook, stirring with a heatproof spatula, until slightly thickened, about 1 minute. Remove from heat.
  4. Gradually whisk the hot milk mixture into the cream cheese until smooth. Pour the mixture into a 1-gallon Ziploc freezer bag and submerge the sealed bag in the ice bath. Let stand, adding more ice as necessary, until cold, about 30 minutes.
  5. Pour the ice cream base into the frozen canister and begin to spin the ice cream. Meanwhile, melt the chocolate in a double boiler. Remove from the heat and let cool until tepid but still fluid.
  6. When the ice cream is thick and creamy and almost finished, drizzle the melted chocolate slowly through the opening in the top of the ice cream, machine and allow to solidify and break up in the ice cream for about 2 minutes.
  7. Pack the ice cream into a storage container, press a sheet of parchment paper directly against the surface, and seal with an airtight lid. Freeze in the coldest part of your freezer until firm, at least four hours.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Regan permalink
    March 19, 2015 11:11 am

    We had some good times in the Buckeye State- namely standing on the sidelines in the sleet/snowstorm negative temps against OSU- go CatS!

  2. March 24, 2015 11:11 am

    Looks delicious! Can’t wait for warmer weather and the chance to break out the ice cream maker and try this soon!

Leave a Reply

