Skip to content

Salted Browned Butter White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies

March 9, 2015

I follow two different types of people on Instagram. The first type of people only post photos of food, restaurants, and coffee art… I actually don’t even know what these people look like because all they do is post photos of food that I want to stuff my face into immediately. The other type of people are really fit and only talk about working out OR they are super slender fashionistas… Either way, fit or skinny, they make me not want to eat for a few days.

 

IMG_1401_2

 

As you can imagine, whenever I browse my Instagram feed I am conflicted as to whether I should eat a dozen cookies or run a dozen miles… I don’t think I need to go into detail over which option I typically choose.

 

IMG_1390_2

 

A few weeks ago (when I was still pretending to follow my New Year’s resolutions) I was browsing my Instagram feed and one of my favorite bloggers, Tutti Dolci, posted a mouth-watering photo of Salted Browned Butter White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies. I took a screenshot and looked at it obsessively for the next few weeks, waiting for the perfect moment to try out her recipe.

 

IMG_1403

 

After baking those outrageous Quadruple Chocolate Soft Fudgy Pudding Cookies last week, I was left with half a package of Valrhona white chocolate and I knew I had to make these Salted Browned Butter White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies. I’ve made White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies before, but I’ve never thought of using browned butter for extra nuttiness and flavor, adding cornstarch for texture, and sprinkling with sea salt to balance out the sweetness of white chocolate. These might be the best cookies I’ve ever made.

 

IMG_1419

 

I’m never making another White Chocolate Macadamia Cookie recipe again after discovering this… They are salty, sweet, soft, tender, chewy, caramelized and full of toasted, buttery macadamia nuts and creamy white chocolate. This is perfection.

 

Salted Browned Butter White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies from Tutti Dolci:

Cookies:

1 2/3 cups flour

1 teaspoon cornstarch

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

½ cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

¾ cup light brown sugar

1 large egg

2 tablespoons dark rum

1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste (or extract)

½ cup macadamia nuts, toasted and chopped

3 ounces white chocolate, chopped

Topping

1 ounce white chocolate, chopped

Flaky salt

  1. To brown butter, place butter in a small saucepan and cook over medium-low heat, stirring often, until butter foams, then browns (be careful not to burn), 5–8 minutes. Remove pan from heat and set aside.
  2. To make the cookies, in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment beat the butter and sugar for 1 minute at medium speed, until light and creamy. Add the egg, rum, and vanilla bean paste until combined.
  3. In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together flour, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt.
  4. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture on low speed until incorporated. Fold in macadamia nuts and white chocolate. Cover dough and chill in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours or overnight.
  5. Preheat oven to 350°F and line two baking sheets with silicone mats or parchment paper. Form 1½-inch balls of dough and place two inches apart on prepared baking sheets; flatten mounds slightly.
  6. Top cookies with remaining white chocolate, pressing to adhere. Sprinkle with sea salt and bake, rotating pans halfway through, for 9 minutes, until edges are set. Cool for 4 minutes on baking sheets, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container at room temperature.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2015 9:52 am

    Hi Claire, so glad you liked the cookies, thanks for trying them! 🙂

  2. Rachel permalink
    March 9, 2015 7:52 pm

    White chocolate macadamia nut cookies are by far my favorite! Can’t wait to try it with browned butter and sea salt! YUM.

  3. March 9, 2015 8:48 pm

    Those look amazing!

  4. Victoria permalink
    March 16, 2015 10:18 am

    Looove your blog and IG!! Just a quick question on these delicious looking cookies… So there isn’t actually any browning of the butter involved? That always scares me! Haha… I’ll definitely be making these soon!

    • March 17, 2015 5:48 am

      Hi Victoria, thank you for the sweet comment and for pointing out my error! I just edited the recipe to include browning the butter, but DON’T be afraid! It will make all the difference! When I first started browning butter, I just cooked the butter over low heat and was constantly watching over it and stirring occasionally. The butter kind of goes through “three stages” during the process. First, it’s reduced and melted, then it begins to foam and once the foam subsides, you’ll start to see brown little flecks and it will have a nutty aroma. Remove from heat immediately and place on a cold surface to stop the cooking. Sometimes, I get distracted and let my butter get reaaaaally brown (not burnt, you’ll know the difference immediately), but I just quickly pour it into a cool bowl to stop cooking and I never have any issues. Sorry for all the words, I’m just a big proponent of browned butter haha! Good luck and let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

