Skip to content

Chicken with Caramelized Onion and Cardamom Rice

February 25, 2015

I’ve made a lot of silly and impulsive purchases in my life… Namely, in the kitchen department.

 

IMG_1184_2

 

A quick fling with a double-bladed curved knife when I was obsessed with making all salads “chopped,” a gold Madeleine pan that I’ve used a total of two times, three different kinds of ice cream scoopers that sit in a drawer because I never actually eat ice cream with the intention of eating an entire bowl (I prefer to eat it straight out of the container with a spoon and standing in front of the freezer while constantly telling myself, “One last bite!”). A dozen milkshake cups… because who doesn’t make milkshakes regularly for 12 people? A mini cupcake pan, which isn’t that ridiculous, I just never use it and it irks me to my core. A 50-piece cake decorating kit, an endless edge brownie pan, a football-shaped cake pan, a mango pitter, a honey dipper, pretzel rod molds, six different tart pans, mini brioche pans, the list goes on… All things I simply could not live without at the time.

 

IMG_1204_2

 

Thankfully, my poorly thought out kitchen includes 15-foot cabinets that I am unable to use unless I whip out an actual ladder so the majority of my impulsive kitchen purchases just sit in the cabinet… collecting dust until I open the cabinet door to throw in some other useless kitchen tool I impulsively bought that week.

 

IMG_1206

 

My Lodge Cast Iron Skillet does not fall into that category and is one of the best kitchen purchases I’ve ever made. I was in college at the time when I bought it and thought a $70.00 purchase for a 15-inch skillet just seemed irresponsible, so I wimped out and only spent $37.00 for the 12-inch skillet… this was my one regret. But then again I didn’t know I would end up living with a man who regularly eats 2 pounds of meat in one sitting. If you’re a normal human being with a normal appetite, the 12-inch skillet comfortably feeds 3-4 people, whether it’s 6 chicken thighs, 4 burgers, or 20 meatballs.

 

IMG_1211_2

 

I use my cast iron skillet probably 4-5 times a week… It just sits on my kitchen counter most days because I am either too lazy to reorganize my small pantry (that I can regularly access without a ladder) to make space for it ooor I just use it THAT frequently! I roast whole chickens, pan-sear chicken thighs, roast pork tenderloin, fry/bake steak… I’ve even baked a cast-iron Peach Brown Butter Buckle (which was absolutely amazing and as soon as peaches are in season, I’ll be blogging it) and Chocolate Chunk Skillet Cookie in this bad boy.

 

IMG_1227

 

Yesterday, I made Chicken with Caramelized Onion and Cardamom Rice from the beloved Jerusalem: A Cookbook in my cast-iron skillet and as always, it did not disappoint. Unfortunately, since I could only fit 6 chicken thighs in my 12-inch skillet, Tony ate the entire thing while I ate leftovers from the night before. But he was doing the happy dance at the table while eating it so I knew I had to recreate this dish to blog… and to eat… since Tony is leaving town tomorrow. Yipeee! No sharing for me!

 

IMG_1228_2

 

This is a comfort meal for the masses! It’s a simple, warm, and fragrant one-pot meal that you can prepare and serve in less than an hour. It will make you want to eat the entire thing with a wooden spoon straight from the stove or do the happy dance while sitting at the table.

 

Chicken with Caramelized Onions and Cardamom Rice from Jerusalem: A Cookbook:

3 tablespoons sugar (40 grams)

2 ½ tablespoons barberries, or use currants (25 grams)

4 tablespoons olive oil

2 medium onions, thinly sliced (2 cups/250 grams)

2 ¼ pounds skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs (1 kilogram), or 1 whole chicken, quartered

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

10 cardamom pods

Rounded ¼ teaspoon whole cloves

2 long cinnamon sticks, broken in two

1 2/3 cups basmati rice (300 grams)

2 ¼ cups boiling water (550 milliliters)

1 ½ tablespoons flat-leaf parsley leaves (5 grams), chopped

½ cup dill leaves (5 grams), chopped

¼ cup cilantro leaves (5 grams), chopped

1/3 cup Greek yogurt (100 grams), mixed with 2 tablespoons olive oil (optional)

  1. Put the sugar and scant 3 tablespoons water in a small saucepan and heat until the sugar dissolves. Remove from the heat, add the barberries, and set aside to soak. If using currants, you do not need to soak them in this way.
  2. Meanwhile, heat half the olive oil in a large sauté pan for which you have a lid over medium heat. Add the onion, and cook for 10 to 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the onion has turned a deep golden brown. Transfer the onion to a small bowl and wipe the pan clean.
  3. Place the chicken in a large mixing bowl and season with 1½ teaspoons each salt and black pepper. Add the remaining olive oil, cardamom, cloves and cinnamon and use your hands to mix everything together well. Heat the frying pan again and place the chicken and spices in it. Sear chicken for 5 minutes on each side and remove from the pan (this is important as it part-cooks the chicken). The spices can stay in the pan, but don’t worry if they stick to the chicken. Remove most of the remaining oil as well, leaving just a thin film at the bottom. Add the rice, caramelized onion, 1 teaspoon salt and plenty of black pepper. Drain the barberries and add them as well. Stir well and return the seared chicken to the pan, pushing it into the rice.
  4. Pour the boiling water over the rice and chicken, cover the pan, and cook over very low heat for 30 minutes. Take the pan off the heat, remove the lid, quickly place a clean tea towel over the pan, and seal again with the lid. Leave the dish undisturbed for another 10 minutes. Finally, add the herbs and use a fork to stir them in and fluff up the rice. Taste and add more salt and pepper if needed. Serve hot or warm with yogurt mixture if you like.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Judith Bassoul permalink
    February 25, 2015 3:49 pm

    There are no silly or impulsive kitchen purchases…you just haven’t found the right recipes yet to use them ;)))

Leave a Reply

