Skip to content

Oatmeal Peanut Butter-Fudge Bars

December 9, 2014

Yesterday, my friends, marked the day that I can no longer say that “I’m in my early 20s.” That’s right, it was my birthday yesterday and I am now TWENTY-FIVE years old.

 

IMG_0605_2

 

I am surprisingly not freaking out about this milestone birthday… I don’t know if it’s really a milestone, but the mere fact that I can now rent a car without an additional fee is KIND OF a big deal. Twenty-five is typically the age where people start freaking out about their “life goals” and what they’ve accomplished so far.

Although my list of accomplishments is rather brief (I mean, so what if I’ve only held one job in my life for less than two years?!) I’ve never been in a better place; mentally, physically, and emotionally. I’ve reached a quarter of a century mark and I’m happy in my own skin and that’s a big enough accomplishment for me… Or maybe that’s just because I’m unemployed at age 25 and I have zero desire to use my college degree in the future… IRRELEVANT!

 

IMG_0611_2

 

Speaking of accomplishments… I made Oatmeal Peanut Butter-Fudge Bars and they are gosh dang delicious. I always feel like a baking all-star when I give any of my friends a dessert with peanut butter… Let’s just say, in the peanut butter department, America reigns. Specifically the most artificial American peanut butter you can find with a light blue cap; there’s just nothing like Skippy when baking!

These bars are full of peanut butter-fudge and layered with a chewy oatmeal cookie crust and topping. They’re simple to make and they’re the perfect dessert to share with friends and family over the holidays!

 

IMG_0604

 

Oatmeal Peanut Butter-Fudge Bars by The Bite-Sized Baker:

Oatmeal Cookie Crumble:

3 cups old fashioned oats

2 ½ cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup butter, room temperature

2 cups brown sugar, packed

2 eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla

Peanut Butter-Fudge:

16 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped

½ cup heavy cream

¼ cup peanut butter

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a 9”x13” pan with parchment paper.
  2. To make the oatmeal cookie crumble, combine oats, flour, salt, and baking soda in a large mixing bowl.
  3. In the bowl of a standing mixer, cream sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating to blend between additions, and scraping down bowl as necessary. Add vanilla until just combined. While mixing on low, add dry ingredients until evenly combined. Set aside.
  4. To make the peanut butter ganache, place chocolate morsels in a large non-reactive bowl and in a medium saucepan, heat cream until bubbles begin to form around the edge of the pan. Immediately remove the pan from the heat and pour it over the chocolate. Let chocolate and cream mixture sit for 3 minutes. With a wooden spoon, begin stirring small circles in the middle of the bowl. As the smooth mixture begins to form in the middle, slowly expand the size of the circle until the cream and chocolate is fully incorporated. Add peanut butter and let ganache cool for 5 minutes.
  5. To assemble, spread two-thirds of the oatmeal cookie crumble into prepared pan and bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool slightly for 5 minutes. Spread cooled peanut butter ganache over oatmeal cookie crumble and top with remaining oatmeal cookie crumble and bake for 30 minutes or until edges are set. Cool in pan on wire rack and cut into squares.
  6. If peanut butter ganache doesn’t set, place pan in freezer for 10-15 minutes until set. They also taste delicious when served chilled!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Judith Bassoul permalink
    December 9, 2014 7:32 am

    25 is beautiful on you! And you are so right about pb

  2. December 9, 2014 5:25 pm

    Mail me some?!?!?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

