Skip to content

Baked Chocolate Cake Doughnuts

December 4, 2014

Sometimes when I have time to kill and I’ve already checked my email and looked at every possible website that I am remotely interested in, I stalk pictures of doughnuts on different forms of social media.

 

IMG_0582

 

I look up hashtags of #DoughnutVault, #DoughtnutPlant, #GlazedandConfused, #Firecakes, and #StansDonuts and I immediately crave a fresh, fried doughnut straight from the peanut oil. It’s a sick and tormenting game that I play with myself. So fun!

On this particular day, I didn’t need to do any doughnut hashtag stalking because it seemed like EVERY SINGLE PERSON on my Instagram feed was eating their share of doughnuts and taking aerial shots to prove it. I needed to get my hands on one… AND FAST!

 

IMG_0576

 

Unfortunately, I’ve burnt myself more times than I care to admit this week and seeing how it was only Wednesday at this point, I didn’t want to take any chances with spitting hot peanut oil… So I took the easy route, I made Baked Chocolate Cake Doughnuts.

 

IMG_0578_2

 

I am not going to sit here and claim that baked doughnuts taste anything like the real thing, but they are an excellent alternative when you need a quick fix and/or maybe you’re just afraid of kneading or frying dough. They are super quick to make, moist, and full of chocolate flavor. The perfect treat on a chilly December morning!

 

Baked Chocolate Cake Doughnuts from the Pastry Affair:

Chocolate Doughnuts:

¾ cup (150 grams) granulated sugar

1 ¼ cup (160 grams) all-purpose flour

¼ cup (20 grams) cocoa powder

½ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons butter, melted

½ cup (115 grams) sour cream

1/3 cup (78 ml) milk

Vanilla Glaze:

1 cup (125 grams) powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 ½ tablespoons milk

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C). Grease a standard-size doughnut pan.
  2. To make the chocolate doughnuts, whisk together the sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl. Stir in the egg, vanilla, melted butter, sour cream, and milk until thoroughly mixed.
  3. Transfer the batter to a pastry bag (or large kitchen bag with the corner snipped off). Fill the depressions in the prepared pan with the batter until 2/3 full. Alternatively, if appearance does not matter, you could spread the batter into the pan using an offset spatula, but this results in more unevenly shaped doughnuts. Bake the doughnuts for 15-18 minutes, or until puffed and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool in the pan for 5-10 minutes, before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.
  4. To make the vanilla glaze, stir together all ingredients until smooth in a small mixing bowl. If the glaze is too thick, thin with a teaspoon or two of milk.
  5. Spoon the glaze over the cooled doughnuts, allowing any excess to drip off. The glaze will take 10-15 minutes to set, depending on the thickness.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2014 10:45 am

    I love your blog, all your posts are so beautiful and looks delicious! 🙂

  2. December 6, 2014 5:34 pm

    These look amazing! I may just have to give them a shot with some gluten free flours! :-S

Leave a Reply

