Skip to content

Coffee Meringue Brownies

October 7, 2014

While Tony was driving to Copenhagen with a few of our friends to compete in a 24-Hour CrossFit Throwdown last weekend, Louie and I spent a rigorous 48 hours of relaxing, pampering ourselves, watching Meryl Streep movies and Sex and the City re-runs, and baking… A much better alternative to driving 34 hours, in my opinion.

 

IMG_0126

 

The first thing I made was Coffee Meringue Brownies from Milk and Honey. The first time I saw this recipe, I knew I had to make it and it’s been bookmarked on my computer for quite some time now… I love coffee, I’ve just recently become meringue-obsessed, and I love anything and everything that requires a blowtorch. Unfortunately, since I don’t typically carry corn flour and coffee liqueur in my pantry, I’ve put off making this recipe until last weekend and I am so happy I finally made it!

 

IMG_0130_2

 

The brownies are simple, not too sweet, with a fudge-like texture, but the real show stopper is the Coffee Meringue– it’s like eating a coffee-spiked marshmallow. Since I’m a coffee fanatic, I added an additional teaspoon of coffee liqueur so the coffee flavor was more pronounced and the result is somewhat comparable to s’mores spiked with coffee. Not a bad combination at all.

 

IMG_0152_2

 

The only thing I regret about this recipe was making it on a Saturday afternoon when Tony didn’t get home until Monday… and it’s also a slightly difficult dessert to transport so I couldn’t just give it away like I usually do… So I ate brownies for more meals than I care to admit and I eventually ended up throwing half most of it away, for fear that I would eat the entire recipe on my own.

 

IMG_0159

 

Coffee Meringue Brownies ever so slightly adapted from Milk and Honey:

Brownie:
200 grams dark chocolate, chopped
250 grams unsalted butter
150 grams caster sugar
175 grams light brown sugar
4 eggs
200 grams cake flour
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
2 tablespoons coffee liqueur (I used Tia Maria)
Coffee Meringue:
4 egg whites
220 grams caster sugar
1 tablespoon corn flour
2 teaspoons white vinegar
2 teaspoons coffee liqueur

  1. To make the brownies, preheat the oven to 160 C. Lightly grease a 13cm x 37cm loose-bottomed tart tin and set aside.
  2. Combine the butter and chocolate in a small heatproof bowl and set the bowl in a wide skillet of barely simmering water. Stir from time to time until the butter is melted and the mixture is smooth. Remove the bowl from the skillet and set aside briefly until the mixture is only warm, not hot.
  3. Combine the sugars, eggs, and coffee liqueur in a medium bowl and mix to combine. Stir in the chocolate mixture with a wooden spoon and when the batter looks thick, shiny, and well blended, add the flour and cocoa powder and stir until you cannot see it any longer. Spread evenly in the prepared tin and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until set. Let cool completely on a rack.
  4. To make the coffee meringue, put the egg whites into the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Whisk until soft peaks form then gradually add the sugar and whisk until the mixture is glossy and thick. Add the corn flour, vinegar and coffee liqueur and whisk to combine. Spoon the meringue over the cooled brownie and blast it with a kitchen blowtorch (or broil in the oven on high for a minute), until toasted.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2014 6:29 am

    Omg that looks wonderful! Im going to have to try that!!!

  2. Bryce permalink
    October 27, 2014 11:24 pm

    This looks great— thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

