Skip to content

Peach and Blueberry Galette

August 13, 2014

Since Tony is in full vacation mode now, I have taken advantage of the opportunity by dragging him to the Mercato every morning… After all, carrying those bags can be quite the workout and reinforcement is much needed!

 

IMG_0076

 

I went a little overboard now that I have an extra set of arms and I bought several kilos worth of fresh peaches, plums, heirloom tomatoes, and blueberries. What can I say, I’m overcompensating for the last five years of mediocre produce in Chicago and I want to make sure I’m taking full advantage of summer produce!

 

IMG_0087

 

If there’s anything I hate, it’s wasting food, and seeing as though I bought more produce than two people alone can consume in a given time period, a habit very much so passed down from my dad, I decided to bake with all my seasonal fruit. Something about handing someone a single peach or handful of blueberries isn’t as enticing as sharing a warm slice of Peach and Blueberry Galette!

 

IMG_0093_2

 

I have wanted to make a galette for a very long time now. Galettes are so rustic, fuss-free, and imperfectly perfect… If there was one person in this world that reminds of galettes it’s Ina Garten. Goodness, I love her. I love everything about Ina and how she describes everything as “gorgeous” and always has an overwhelming amount of attractive gay men attending her fabulous dinner parties in the Hamptons. I read a quote from Ina saying, “Simple’s the most sophisticated thing of all.”  and I cannot agree more, especially when it comes to galettes. Not to mention they are the perfect vehicle for consuming warm seasonal fruit topped with melted ice cream!

 

IMG_0096

 

For my Peach and Blueberry Galette, I used a new-to-me method called frisage from America’s Test Kitchen to make sure the crust has that perfectly delicate flakiness. Frisage is basically smearing the dough with the heel of your hand across a lightly floured surface. I loved this technique, it’s super easy, super forgiving, and nothing like kneading, which still scares me. It’s just super.

 

IMG_0105_2

 

Unfortunately, I used too much flour on my surface during my frisage step so when I began to roll out my dough it was a bit dry and started to crack and crumble whenever I rolled my dough out into anything thinner than ¼ inch. Fortunately, this recipe is as fuss-free and forgiving as can be so I just made my dough circles a bit thicker than I originally anticipated (as you can tell by the pictures the crust is quite thick and doesn’t have that nice pleated look to it). But as I said earlier, galettes are allll about imperfection so I wasn’t overly concerned with the aesthetics as long as it tasted delicious. And, boy did it taste fantastic! The crust was still flaky and delicious, and the additional thickness might have even helped hold up my mountain of ice cream.

 

IMG_0113

 

This is the perfect summer night dessert and a great way to celebrate the end of summer! Since I didn’t use an Ina Garten recipe, I felt it was only fair to pay my tributes to the only and only by putting a spin on her Tomatoes and Burrata with Garlic Toasts recipe using the heirloom tomatoes I bought earlier. I added cubed avocado, ditched the toast, and served it alongside pan-seared chicken and then devoured this galette with heaps of ice cream for dessert. How easy is that?! 

 

IMG_0116_2

 

Peach and Blueberry Galette recipe slightly adapted from from America’s Test Kitchen (inspired by In The Kitchen):

Dough:

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon sugar

½ teaspoon salt

10 tablespoons butter, cut into small pieces

3-6 tablespoons ice water

Filling:

2-4 peaches, pitted and sliced into ½ inch pieces

½ cup blueblerries

1/8 teaspoon cinnamon

Pinch of salt

2-4 tablespoons granulated sugar, plus more for sprinkling

  1. To make the dough, process the flours, salt, and butter in a food processor until the mixture resembles coarse bread crumbs, and the butter is the size of small peas. Add the water through the feed tube 1 tablespoon at a time, until dough holds together when pinched (about 10 pulses).
  2. To fraisage the dough, (also, a You Tube video here) turn out the dough onto a lightly floured work surface and gather into a rectangular shaped pile. Use the heel of your hand to smear the dough against the work surface. Continue to smear until all the dough has been worked. Gather into a pile again, and repeat. Flatten dough into a 6-inch disk (or divide into two equal pieces if making smaller galettes), wrap in plastic, and refrigerate for about an hour.
  3. Roll the dough into a 12-inch circle (or 2 smaller circles, about 8-inches wide each) on a  piece of parchment paper, and refrigerate  for 20 minutes. Adjust your oven rack to the middle position and heat to 375.
  4. To make the fruit filling, toss the peaches and blueberries with the cinnamon and salt. Add the sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, until desired sweetness is reached. Mound the fruit in the center of your rolled dough, leaving a 2-inch border (or 1-inch border for smaller galettes). Fold the outermost dough over the fruit, pleating it as you go (about every 2-3 inches). Brush the dough with water and sprinkle with an additional 1 tablespoon sugar.
  5. Bake until tart is deep golden brown and the fruit is bubbling, about 1 hour (less for smaller galettes – about 40-45 minutes). Rotate baking sheet halfway through baking.
  6. Cool the tart on a wire rack for 10 minutes, then use the parchment to transfer tart to a wire rack. Cool about 25 minutes. Serve plain, or with ice cream.
One Comment leave one →
  1. Judith Bassoul permalink
    August 13, 2014 6:56 am

    You are putting that kitchen aid mixer too great use! Yummy! My favorite dessert ;)))

Leave a Reply

