Skip to content

Shakshuka

February 27, 2014

Tony is in Dubai and I am making a mess in the kitchen.

IMG_7478

Unfortunately, I am one of those people who just CANNOT eat alone. I get anxiety just ordering food by myself in English so going to a restaurant and sitting by my lonesome is out of the question… However, Louie makes an excellent date for our morning cappuccino, which I am more than grateful for! Anyway, with Tony out of the house it means I have a lot of free time on my hands to explore new recipes and I also have to cook for myself and I have found the most perfect meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner that can easily be adjusted for individuals and groups alike!

IMG_7481

Shakshuka seems to be on everyone’s mind lately according to my Instagram and Pinterest accounts and I couldn’t be more excited. It’s an Israeli, one-dish meal of eggs poached in a spicy and flavorful tomato, pepper, and onion sauce and it is simply delicious. I’ve always been a big fan of eggs baked in tomato sauce and this just takes it one step further. Plus, if you like your eggs runny, I find this method of cooking is much more ideal for getting the consistency you want.

IMG_7486

I personally go the traditional route when I make shakshuka and only use the typical combination of vegetables, but I’m thinking of adding some spinach next time. However, for people who need their meat intake for every meal, I think it would be delicious if you browned ground turkey or beef and then added all your vegetables and tomatoes, but that might not be shakshuka anymore either.

Shakshuka recipe by The Bite-Sized Baker:

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 yellow onion, chopped

1 red bell pepper, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

28 ounces peeled tomatoes

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon cumin

½ cayenne

½-¾ cup feta cheese

5 eggs

Parsley, chopped

Salt and pepper, to taste

  1.  In a heavy-bottomed skillet, heat olive oil over medium-low heat. Add chopped onion and sauté for 5 minutes. Add bell pepper and sauté for additional 5 minutes. Add garlic and cook until fragrant. Pour in tomatoes and season with paprika, cumin, cayenne, salt, and pepper. Let simmer until tomatoes begin to thicken, approximately 20 minutes. Stir in crumbled feta cheese.
  2. Gently crack eggs over skillet and season with salt and pepper. Cover with lid and cook until egg whites have set and yolks have reached your desired consistency.
  3. Remove from heat and sprinkle with additional feta cheese and chopped parsley. Serve with hot sauce or bread, if desired

Makes four servings.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

