Skip to content

Peppermint Crinkle Cookies

December 17, 2013

Every family has their standard holiday menu of Christmas Cookies that without, wouldn’t feel quite like the holidays.

My family has narrowed ours down to Peanut Butter Blossoms, Snowball Cookies, Biscotti, Truffles, Banana Bread, and Millionaire Bars. Every year we throw in a curve ball and try something new, but those generally never really stick around to see another holiday.

IMG_6852

I am personally a huge peppermint fan and every year I must bake some new peppermint infused treat. As one could imagine, in my recent state of “funemployment,” I’ve had a lot more time to do some many of the things I love that have neglected to do in the last year or so… Like baking, cooking, blogging, working out, and staying up past 9 o’clock… on the weekends.

IMG_6829

With time on my hands and the holidays quickly approaching, I was in the mood to sing Christmas carols and bake some new holiday treats using peppermint, of course. Because really, when do people ever bake with peppermint besides Christmastime?

IMG_6859

The first time I made “crinkle cookies” I used a recipe by Paula Deen and I was mildly obsessed. They were soft in the center, crispy on the outside, dusted with powdered sugar, and essentially a quintessential holiday treat. I’ve been meaning to recreate “crinkle cookies” for quite some time, but as fate would have it, there was always something new and different I chose to bake instead.

IMG_6801

Naomi of Bakers Royale is one of my favorite bloggers out there. She has some of the most beautiful photography and styling I’ve seen and I get inspired every time I see her post something new. While her recipe for Peppermint Crinkle Cookies is by no means new, it caught me eye and I haven’t been able to focus since. Seasonal, gooey, chewy, crispy, and infused with peppermint. Smells like Christmas.

Peppermint Crinkle Cookies recipe from Bakers Royale:

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

2 tablespoon natural unsweetened cocoa powder

7 ounces chocolate, 65% cacao

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

¼ cup Nutella

2 large eggs

1 egg white

¾ cup sugar

1teaspoon peppermint extract

1 cup confectioner sugar

  1. Place flour and cocoa powder in a bowl and whisk to combine; set aside.
  2. Place chocolate, butter and Nutella in a heavy-bottom pan over low heat and stir until ingredients are melted and combined.; set aside.
  3. Place eggs, egg white and sugar in a bowl and beat until the mixture is light in color and thick and fluffy in appearance with large bubbles (mixture will resemble pancake batter). Add in peppermint extract and beat to combine.
  4. Gently fold chocolate mixture into egg mixture until combined. Gently fold in flour mixture until no streaks appear. Chill dough for 20 minutes.
  5. While dough chills, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line bake sheet with parchment paper
  6. Place confectioner sugar in a large bowl. Remove chilled dough, using a cookie scoop or a tablespoon drop dough into bowl with confectioner sugar. Push dough around to heavily cover it confectioner sugar. Place covered dough balls on parchment lined bake sheet one inch apart. Bake for 350 degrees for about 10-12 minutes. Let cool on cookie sheet for 1-2 minutes, using a spatula press cookie flat.
Leave a Reply

