Skip to content

Madeleines

May 15, 2013

I might be offending a lot of readers out there with this next statement, but I truly dislike picky eaters… You know, picky eaters that refuse to eat something that they’ve NEVER even tried before. I don’t like to socialize with picky eaters because I associate picky eaters with non-adventurous eaters and let’s face it; if you’re my friend, you have to love food and you have to love eating new, adventurous food with me! There are exceptions to this rule, of course… Regan who refuses to eat fruit and Jenna who doesn’t allow our friends to eat tuna in her vicinity.

IMG_6327

I’ve always disliked picky eaters because I feel like they are limiting themselves from enjoying so much good food out there. Is one bite of dried shrimp kettle corn reallllly going to kill you?  No, probably not, but you might need to chug water afterwards.

IMG_6332

I’ve always considered myself a NON picky eater. I will literally eat anything at least once… even a live goldfish if it meant winning a scavenger hunt at church… however strange/pagan eating live animals may seem…

It took me a while to realize it, but I, myself, am a picky eater.

IMG_6339_2

I decide on the restaurant a week before I make reservations, spend at least 30 minutes consulting a menu before I even go to the restaurant, and I typically never eat baked goods unless I’ve made them myself… So yes, some might consider these tendencies of mine to be “picky eater” behavior and I must admit, I kind of agree.

IMG_6372_2IMG_6376

Case in point, Madeleines. I think Madeleines are plain and boring… so I’ve never tried a Madeleine before. I decided to make Madeleines the other day because I envisioned a pretty piture for my blog, that’s it, not because I wanted to try something new and different or anything acceptable like that. Well, my friends, I got my picky eater karma. Here I am, picking at picky eaters for not trying adventurous food, when I’m not trying food because I don’t deem it adventurous, but all the while they are delicious little caramelized, soft, and crunchy bites of cookie-cake! Please, for the sake of picky eaters. Make these cookies. No one will be disappointed, picky and non-picky alike.

IMG_6357

Madeleines recipe from Williams-Sonoma:

  • Softened unsalted butter for brushed molds
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour, sifted, plus more for dusting
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • Confectioners’ sugar for dusting
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Using a pastry brush, brush softened butter over each mold of the Madeleine Pan, carefully buttering every ridge. Dust the molds with flour, tilting the mold of the pan to coat surfaces evenly. Turn the pan upside down and gently tap out the excess flour.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the eggs, granulated sugar, and salt. Using a wire whisk or a handled mixer on medium-high speed, beat vigorously until pale, thick, and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Beat in the vanilla. Sprinkle the sifted flour over the egg mixture and stir or beat on low speed until incorporated.
  3. Using a rubber spatula, gently fold in half of the melted butter until just blended, then fold in the remaining butter. Divide the batter evenly among the prepared molds, using a heaping 1 Tablespoon batter for each mold. Bake the madeleines until the tops spring back when lightly touched, 8 to 12 minutes.
  4. Remove the pan from the oven and invert it over a wire rack, then rap the pan on the rack to release the madeleines. If any should stick, use your fingers to loosen the edges, being careful not to touch the hot pan, and invert and rap again.
  5. Let the madeleines cool on the rack for 10 minutes. Using a fine-mesh sieve, dust the tops with confectioners’ sugar and serve.

Makes 16.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    May 16, 2013 12:53 pm

    I don’t think I have ever tried a Madeline either… I guess I’ll have to try this recipe out!

  2. May 20, 2013 12:08 am

    I LOVE Madeline’s! Can’t wait to try out this recipe 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Le Maddalene (Orange and Vanilla Madeleines) | Silvia's Cucina

Leave a Reply

