Skip to content

Shrimp Thai Curry

April 30, 2013

I am on a Thai food kick right now. I think it started with the Garam Masala nuts, but I started to get adventorous and I tried Panang Curry and I am now obsessed with anything that has curry in it… or flavors related to curry.

IMG_6197_2

 I tend to be a dreamer and want to travel the world and Thailand is definitely on the top of my list…. How could I not want to visit a place where their coffee is served with sweetened condensed milk? Or is that just an American thing? Anyway, Tony and I also like to pretend that we’re really cultural and eat Thai Curry, Tom Kha Gai soup, Pananag Curry, Chicken Tikka Masala, and other dishes that I cannot pronounce on a weekly basis to pretend like we’re there… Although I think my Shrimp Thai Curry is pretty dang delightful, I can’t help but think it gives no justice to the real thing… Unfortunately, food is all I have for now, so I cook and I eat and I dream!

IMG_6221

This recipe is so simple that I only needed to make it twice to perfect it and we all know my strength is in baking, not necessarily cooking. The first time I made this meal I used full-fat coconut milk and while it does give you a very rich and creamy consistency, it is… full of fat. However, the second time I made this dish I used light coconut milk, the good ole stuff from Trader Joe’s, and a touch of full-fat coconut milk to thicken the sauce up a bit and that was the perfect consistency. Also, if you are one of those unfortunate few who do not like coconut this dish is not for you.

IMG_6219

After you’ve found the perfect consistency, you add a dollop of this and a dash of that, saute your veggies, pour your sauce, and mix it all together and then voilà! I’ve used pre-shredded carrots and frozen cooked shrimp in the past to speed up the process, but I would recommend cooking the shrimp yourself to give a deeper flavor profile and get rid of that fishy taste frozen fish sometimes tends to have. Overall, delicious and easy meal that everyone can make on a weeknight!

Shrimp Thai Curry by The Bite-Sized Baker:

1 (13.5 ounce) can light coconut milk

½ cup full-fat coconut milk (more or less depending on your desired consistency)

1 tablespoon red curry paste

1 tablespoon curry powder

1 tablespoon fish oil

1 tablespoon garlic, minced

1 tablespoon ginger, minced

1 yellow onion, chopped

1 cup carrots, sliced julienne style

1 cup red bell peppers, sliced julienne style

1 cup shitake mushrooms, thinly sliced

1 cup snow peas

1 pound cooked shrimp

Chopped fresh cilantro

Lime wedges, for serving

Sriracha, for serving

  1. To make the sauce, combine coconut milk, curry paste, fish oil, and curry powder and whisk until combined.
  2. To make the veggies, coat a large nonstick skillet with vegetable oil and add chopped onion. Cook until translucent, 5-10 minutes. Add carrots, bell peppers, garlic, and ginger and cook for additional 5-10 minutes until vegetables begin to soften. Add mushrooms and cook for an additional 5 minutes or until mushrooms begin to lightly brown. Add snow peas and cooked shrimp and sauté for a few minutes just to release flavor.
  3. Pour sauce over shrimp and vegetables and stir gently. Cook until just warmed through and thickened a bit. Season with salt and pepper, as needed.
  4. Serve with steamed brown rice and garnish with chopped cilantro, lime wedges, and Sriracha sauce.
One Comment leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    April 30, 2013 11:40 am

    This looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

