Skip to content

Canned Biscuit Dough Doughnuts

February 13, 2013

As Part II of my Valentine’s Day Surprise menu I made doughnuts… Okay, in reality these doughnuts were really for me because I cannot stop thinking about how I want a fresh and fluffy doughnut and I’m not talking about any of this “baked” doughnut stuff. Bring on the peanut oil! But Valentine’s Day was also a great excuse to fry up some dough.

IMG_5697

I have claimed my dislike for kneading and all things yeast many times before but these doughnuts do not require ANY of that and yet, they are still fluffy and light as can be! But how can this be, you ask?! Well, my g-frand, Paula Deen, shared a recipe for Canned Biscuit Dough Donuts and answered all of life’s more serious questions. Also, one of my biggest pet peeves is when people spell doughnuts, DO-NUTS. Is it really that difficult to spell it correctly?

IMG_5701

These doughnuts literally require zero effort and take seconds to make. This idea is literally GENIUS and I will now always have at least one can of Buttermilk Biscuit Dough sitting in my fridge, in case, I ever have a bad day, you know?

IMG_5713

The only thing you need to be concerned about is not getting burnt by spitting oil and getting them while they’re still hot.

IMG_5717

Canned Biscuit Dough Doughnuts recipe by Paula Deen:

Peanut oil, for frying
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
¼ cup sugar
Icings:
2 cups confectioners’ sugar, divided
5 tablespoons milk, divided
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
¼ cup cocoa powder
2 cans large buttermilk biscuits
Colored sprinkles
Chocolate sprinkles

  1. Heat 2 inches peanut oil in a large pot or Dutch oven to 350 degrees F
  2. In a shallow bowl, stir together the ground cinnamon and sugar and set aside. In a small bowl, whisk together 1 cup of confectioners’ sugar, 2 tablespoons of milk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, set aside. This is the vanilla icing. In another bowl, whisk together 1 cup of confectioners’ sugar, ¼ cup of cocoa powder and 3 tablespoons of milk and set aside. This is the chocolate icing.
  3. Lay out the biscuits on a cutting board and with a 1 ½-inch round cookie or biscuit cutter, cut out a hole from the middle of each biscuit. Fry them in the oil until golden and then flip with tongs to fry the other side. You can even fry the donut holes. Drain on paper towels and then toss in the cinnamon-sugar or ice and decorate with sprinkles, as desired.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    February 13, 2013 11:48 am

    What a genius idea! I’m so making these

  2. February 13, 2013 3:31 pm

    I’ve noticed a lot of people use peanut oil a lot when frying doughnuts – what’s so special about it?

    • February 16, 2013 10:13 pm

      My guess is that people use peanut oil because you can fry it at high temperatures whereas other oils like olive, canola, and corn oils burn at high temperatures.

  3. Kayla permalink
    March 5, 2013 5:09 pm

    I’ve done this before with canned biscuits but just put together cinnamon and sugar to dip them in. They turned out so good, my sister and I couldn’t help but to eat them all to ourselves!

Leave a Reply

