Skip to content

Caramel Budino with Salted Caramel Sauce

February 1, 2013

The Great Budino. This is one of those desserts that I decide to have a “quick taste” of and before I know it I have eaten the entire thing while standing up with the fridge wide open… Did I also mention this is at 7 in the morning?

IMG_5477

A budino is Italian for pudding, but let’s be honest, pudding sounds a lot fancier when you call it budino and a lot less like a Hunt’s Snack Pack… Not like I have anything against Snack Packs!

IMG_5483

Pudding, excuse me, budino is not necessarily something I get excited about, but I saw this recipe for Caramel Budino with Salted Caramel Sauce and I was giddy. Layers of crushed chocolate cookie wafers (which I justified eating four of while removing the cream filling), a creamy and light caramel budino, homemade salted caramel, and topped with freshly whipped cream all perfectly presented in a pretty little mason jar. It’s worth getting excited about.

IMG_5512

I also just had the idea of using this budino base for a Salted Caramel Crème Brûlée or using the remaining salted caramel to swirl in brownies for Super Bowl. So. Many. Ideas. So. Much. Excitement.

IMG_5519_2

In other news, I have created an ongoing list for Super Bowl Snacks. I have this tiny little habit of planning to make a huge feast for holidays and events and when the event finally rolls around I end up making one lonely dish because I don’t feel like hassling myself. Case in point, Christmas. My family was PISSED when “The Bite-Sized Baker” made one measly attempt at Cinnamon Rolls and Bloody Mary’s. Needless to say, I have some making up to do when I go back home. But SUPER BOWL! I want to share all my ideas but most likely I’ll make only three two one of the recipes I tell you about.. So I’ll just share the recipes with you once I make them.

IMG_5528_2

But here’s something I did make. Caramel Budinos. They’re real, they’re here, and they’re delicious.

IMG_5538

Caramel Budino with Salted Caramel Sauce recipe from Bon Appetit:

Cookie Crust

  • 1 cup finely ground chocolate cookie crumbs (such as Nabisco Famous Chocolate Wafers; about 20 cookies)
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

Budino

  • 3 cups whole milk, divided
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 3/4 cup (packed) dark brown sugar
  • 5 large egg yolks
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 teaspoons dark rum
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt

Salted Caramel Sauce

  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1/2 vanilla bean, split lengthwise
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2″ cubes
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • Lightly sweetened whipped cream
  1. To make the cookie crust, mix cookie crumbs, butter, and salt in a medium bowl. Place 2 tablespoons in a small bowl; cover and chill for garnish. Press 2 tablespoons cookie mixture onto the bottom of each of eight 8-ounce mason jars or ramekins.
  2. To make the budino, whisk 1/2 cup milk and cornstarch in a small bowl; set aside. Heat remaining 2 1/2 cups milk in a small saucepan just to a simmer; set aside. To make caramel, stir sugar and 3/4 cup water in a heavy saucepan over medium heat until sugar dissolves. Increase heat; cook without stirring until an instant-read thermometer registers 210°–220°
  3. Line a sieve with a double layer of cheesecloth and set over a large pitcher. Whisk egg yolks in a large bowl. Gradually whisk in hot milk, then cornstarch mixture. Slowly whisk in caramel. Return mixture to saucepan. Whisk constantly over medium heat until mixture thickens and a thermometer registers 175°, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat; whisk in butter, rum, and salt. Pour through prepared sieve.
  4. Pour 1/2 cup budino over crust in each jar. Cover; chill until set, 4–5 hours. DO AHEAD Can be made 1 day ahead. Keep chilled.
  5. To make salted caramel, place cream in a small pitcher. Scrape in seeds from vanilla bean; add bean. Set aside.
  6. Stir sugar, corn syrup, and 2 tablespoons water in a heavy saucepan over medium heat until sugar dissolves. Increase heat to medium-high; boil, occasionally swirling pan and brushing down sides with a wet pastry brush, until deep amber color forms, 5–6 minutes. Remove from heat; gradually add vanilla cream (mixture will bubble vigorously). Whisk over medium heat until smooth and thick, about 2 minutes. Remove from heat; whisk in butter and salt. Strain into a heatproof bowl. Let cool slightly.
  7. Spoon 2 tablespoons caramel sauce over each budino. Top with whipped cream. Sprinkle some of reserved cookie crumbs over
One Comment leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    February 4, 2013 8:16 pm

    That looks so good! I definitely will have to make that sometime

Leave a Reply

