Skip to content

Date Balls

January 16, 2013

When I was younger, my best friend Whitney and I would always piss off my other best friend, Jenna, by being “Bin Pickers.” What is a “Bin Picker,” you might ask…? A Bin Picker is when you go to the candy bin isle of a grocery store and sneakily TASTE-TEST handfuls of gummy worms and/or chocolate covered caramels.

IMG_5361_2

As a child, I would say this behavior is acceptable. Jenna, on the other hand, would always cringe with embarrassment when my fellow Bin Picker, Whitney, and I would run straight to the candy aisle and grab handfuls of candy. Well, somewhere down the road I grew up and this behavior grew to become unacceptable for a 23 year old, but the problem is I have never really felt like I’ve grown up since middle school and I’ve never really grown out of being a Bin Picker.

… I like to try something before I buy a whole pound of it, you know?

IMG_5365

But back to the present… The other day I was walking down the aisles of the supermarket and I went straight to the bin aisle, per usual. I sneakily grabbed a piece of a date ball and some man called me out!

He literally looked at me and said, “Hey, you know better than that!!!” He wasn’t kidding either. I just stood there…. Silently looking at my feet, chewing on what was left of my gross candy, and thinking to myself “Damn. Karma is a bitch.”

I learned two very important things that day. Number One, I should probably not be a Bin Picker if I am over the age of 12 and Number Two, date balls need a little more crunch in order to be tasty in my mind.

IMG_5382_2

After the rest of my shameful grocery store trip I went home and straight to the kitchen to develop a tasty new recipe that adds the extra crunch needed in a Date Ball! It’s gluten-free, refined sugar-free, egg-free, and dairy-free… The quadruple threat! And it is still tasty and foots the bill when you’re in the mood for a sweet treat.

IMG_5374_2

Date Balls recipe by The Bite-Sized Baker:

1 cup Medjool dates, pitted

½ cup honey

1 cup walnuts

Shredded coconut, optional

Cocoa powder, optional

  1. Soak dates in hot water for five minutes. Place dates and honey in food processor and process until smooth paste forms.
  2. Add walnuts and process until just combined and walnuts are still lightly crushed.
  3. Chill the dough in the freezer for 10 minutes or until dough is firm enough to handle. Take one tablespoon of dough and roll into balls and then roll into shredded coconut or cocoa powder.
  4. Store the balls in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to two weeks.
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2013 12:08 pm

    Hahaha! That’s hilarious! I’ve never been a bin-picker, exactly, but I DO taste test grapes and cherries before buying them 😉

Leave a Reply

