Skip to content

Double Layer Chocolate and Coconut Raw Brownies

January 9, 2013

Here’s something I’d never thought I would try… a food restriction of any sort… 

IMG_5311

Do not worry, I’m not going on any gluten-free, dairy-free, grain-free, egg-free, sugar-free, fun-free diet… No siree. Butter and sugar are essential in my diet! However, sometimes it is fun to try something new in the kitchen!

IMG_5314

In light of the New Year and New Year’s Resolutions, I thought I would challenge myself to a two week “No Gluten and No Refined Sugar” Diet… However, I should warn you that the last time I challenged myself to be a vegetarian for two weeks it lasted for 7 years… But for the sake of this blog, I will still bake gluten-full and sugar-full recipes!

After three days of my new diet I was already having dreams of eating bread-crumb covered cookies… Why would cookies need additional breading? …. I don’t have answers, but I know that sounds disgusting and definitely against my rules. So I made something else in accordance with the rules and slightly more appealing… Raw Brownies.

IMG_5307 2

Sadly, these brownies are not just raw brownie batter… Although it does taste very similar to brownie batter but more of a solid form. They are made without ANY gluten products, flour-substitute products, refined sugars, dairy products, nor eggs! So what’s left do you ask? Dates, cashews, maple syrup, unsweetened cacao powder, raw coconut, coconut oil, and coconut palm sugar… About $50 worth when you buy all of it from Whole Foods… But you know what? They tasted absolutely delicious. I’m not even upset I spent all that money on ingredients. And that’s saying something.

IMG_5324 2

Double Layer Chocolate and Coconut Raw Brownies from I Adore Food:

  • 2 cups of organic cashews
  • 2 cupa of unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 10 Medjool dates, pitted
  • 1 cup raw organic cacao powder
  • ½ cup of organic maple syrup
  •  pinch of sea salt
  • ½ cup of organic maple syrup
  • ¼ cup of extra virgin unrefined coconut oil
  • ½ cup of raw organic cacao powder
  • A pinch of fine sea salt
  • ¼ cup of coconut sugar
  1. To make the brownies base, place cashews in the bowl of food processor and grind until very finely ground
  2. Add the shredded coconut and process until well combined and fine in texture. Add the pitted dates and process until a soft paste forms. Add the cacao powder process again.
  3. Finally add the maple syrup and a pinch of salt and process to combine until a creamy texture is achieved scraping down the sides as needed.
  4. Press firmly into a parchment lined square or rectangular pan or mold.
  5. Place in fridge while making the ganache topping.
  6. To make the ganache, in the food processor, blend together maple syrup and coconut oil until well combined.
  7. Add in cacao powder and a pinch of salt and process until smooth scraping down the sides as needed.
  8. Pour over fudge base and spread out evenly over the top. Sprinkle with sea salt and return pan to fridge to set and firm for at least one hour.
  9. Cut into squares and serve the fudge cold. Keep leftovers in an airtight container in the fridge.
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 12, 2015 6:03 pm

    amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

