Skip to content

Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes

December 1, 2012

Can you tell that I’m obsessed with my new vintage measuring spoons from Cost Plus World Market? Note to Self: Don’t try eating crème brûlée with the tablespoon, a half sphere spoon is unexpectedly very difficult to eat from. But enough about crème brûlée!

IMG_4624

It’s December 1st, everyone. This is a very special day… Besides the fact that I am finally getting my hair done after one too many weeks, I am also allowing myself to start ordering seasonal coffee drinks, decorating the house, and watching Elf, A Christmas Carol, Love Actually, How The Grinch Stole Christmas, and Family Stone on repeat until December 26th. ‘Tis the season to be merry! Oh, did I also mention it is my birthday in one week?

IMG_4653_2

Lately, my thoughts are consumed with Christmas baking, crafts, and festivities! I literally catch myself smiling way too big on my way to work because I can’t stop singing Christmas tunes and thinking Christmas thoughts… It really is the best time of the year!

IMG_4661_2

My first holiday beverage of choice is a Peppermint Mocha. Now since today marks the official day I can consume a Peppermint Mocha, I obviously baked Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes for the occasion. I used an Annie’s Eats original. This is my go-to blogger for cupcakes… Her blog inspired me to make Swiss Meringue Buttercream when I was still fairly new to creative baking, Hummingbird Cupcakes, Banana Split Cupcakes, and Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes, to name a few that I’ve posted on my blog….

Every cupcake recipe is light, moist, and rises perfectly. And these Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes are no exception. I’m not even a huge cupcake fan and I couldn’t help but scarf down a single cupcake without the frosting because the cake itself was so deliciously perfect.

IMG_4650_2

Start December off on a good note; buy a Peppermint Mocha and then buy the ingredients to make these adorable Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes.

Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes recipe from Annie’s Eats:

For the cupcakes:
2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2-3 tsp. espresso powder
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
1 cup whole milk
1 cup strong brewed coffee
1 tsp. peppermint extract
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs

For the frosting:
6 large egg whites
1¾ plus 2 tbsp. granulated sugar
1½ cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
4 tsp. peppermint extract
1-2 tsp. vanilla extract

  1. To make the cupcakes, preheat the oven to 350° F.  Line two cupcake pans with paper liners.  In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, espresso powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt; stir together.  Combine the milk, coffee and peppermint extract in a liquid measuring cup.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter and sugars.  Beat on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, 2-3 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.  Blend in the eggs one at a time.   Alternately mix in the dry and liquid ingredients, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients and mixing just until incorporated.
  3. Divide the batter evenly between the prepared cupcake liners.  Bake 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.   Let cool in the pan 5-10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
  4. To make the frosting, combine the egg whites and sugar in a heatproof bowl set over a pot of simmering water.  Heat, whisking frequently, until the mixture reaches 160° F and the sugar has dissolved.  Transfer the mixture to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment.  Beat on medium-high speed until stiff peaks form and the mixture has cooled to room temperature, about 8 minutes.  Reduce the speed to medium and add the butter, 2 tablespoons at a time, adding more once each addition has been incorporated.  If the frosting looks soupy or curdled, continue to beat on medium-high speed until smooth again, about 3-5 minutes more.  Stir in the peppermint and vanilla extracts and mix just until incorporated.

**Note: Instead of using Swiss Meringue Frosting, I made a large batch of Chantilly Cream and substituted half the vanilla extract for peppermint extract.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2012 12:32 pm

    Wow these look gorgeous! It really IS the most wonderful time of the year 😉

  2. December 12, 2012 1:03 pm

    Hey Claire!! Your pictures are looking so good!!! I just got a Nikon D3100 and I can’t wait to start taking some quality pics. Got any secrets? 🙂 Thanks!!

  3. Jennifer permalink
    January 2, 2013 6:20 am

    I just loved the way you decorated the cupcakes; they look so tempting. Also, I would like to suggest that they will look great on white cupcake stands. You may take acrylic or cardboard cupcake stands. They will go on both types of stands.

Trackbacks

  1. Banana Nut Muffins | thebitesizedbaker

Leave a Reply

