Skip to content

Dark Chocolate Orange Muffins

February 21, 2012
tags: ,

I feel like the muffin man’s wife. They’re everywhere.

I am on a muffin kick right now and I don’t really mind it. Soo sorry if you’re sick of muffins. I’ll try to find a new food obsession.

When I was younger, whenever my Dad went to Costco he always came home with an assortment of their ginormous muffins. And even as a kid, the dessert lover in me always chose to eat the Chocolate Chunk Muffins for breakfast… Basically a brownie in the shape of a muffinQuality breakfast. No wonder all of my teachers hated me.

With a little inspiration from Costco’s Chocolate Chunk Muffins and those delicious Chocolate Oranges you eat during the holidays, I created what I’d like to say is the grown-up version of my favorite childhood breakfast.

Dark chocolate and orange zest? That is sophistication as we know it. I am so cultured.

Dark Chocolate Orange Muffins recipe slightly adapted from Cinnamon Girl Recipes:

½ cup butter, room temperature

2/3 cup Dutch-processed unsweetened dark cocoa powder

1 cup sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 eggs

¾ cup milk

¼ cup freshly squeezed orange juice

Zest of 2 oranges

1/3 cup sour cream (not non-fat) or yogurt

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 ½ cups dark chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly grease a 12 cup muffin pan.
  2. In a large mixing bowl beat together butter, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder, salt and vanilla until fluffy. Beat in eggs, then stir in milk, orange juice, orange zest, and sour cream. Mix in flour, then chocolate chips.
  3. Divide batter equally between the muffin cups, they will be full. Sprinkle each muffin with a little coarse sugar if desired.
  4. Bake for 28-30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out without crumbs on it – chocolate is ok. Remove from oven, cool on wire racks 10 minutes, remove from pan to wire racks and cool completely.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    February 21, 2012 8:12 pm

    Yum! I want this right now…

  2. terrylee permalink
    February 22, 2012 10:23 am

    Hmmm, this looks good enough for a going away brunch we’re having this weekend for K.C. I[ll tell dad to forget the costco muffins.

Leave a Reply

