Skip to content

Chipotle-Pomegranate Glazed Roasted Salmon

November 3, 2011

I LOVE this meal.

I always make salmon the same way. I wrap it up in foil, season it with salt, pepper, and paprika, lay lemon slices on top, and then grill it. I have no problem with eating salmon like this all the time, but sometimes you need a little excitement in your life. This was it.

It seriously has it all. It is seasonal, smoky, spicy, and sweet. Slash, I must be tired because it took me a solid 30 seconds to realize “smokey” is not a word.

I made this for my parents who were visiting and they both loved it! My mom was even able to handle the chipotle peppers, bless her little taste buds!

I could eat the entire recipe and be perfectly content, but since I had guests, I served it alongside a Sweet Potato, Bacon, and Pomegranate Salad. Yeah, I went there.

I’m so hungry I could eat my computer screen.

Chipotle-Pomegranate Glazed Roasted Salmon slightly adapted by Simply Scratch:

2 Garlic Cloves, smashed, peeled and minced

3 Chipotle Peppers in Adobo sauce, roughly chopped

2 teaspoons reserved Adobo sauce (from Chipotle Peppers)

2 tablespoons Tomato Paste

2 tablespoons Unsulphured Molasses

1 tablespoon Dark Brown Sugar

½ teaspoon Dried Mustard

1 cup {8 oz.} POM Wonderful Pomegranate Juice

Juice of Half a Lemon

1 (2- to 2 ½- pound) skinless salmon fillet

Salt and pepper

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Heat oil and garlic in a skillet on medium heat until the garlic is softened.
  3. Add chopped chipotle peppers and adobo, tomato paste, dark brown sugar, dried mustard, molasses and pomegranate juice into the pot with the garlic. Mix together to combine all ingredients.
  4. Simmer and let reduce for 10-15 minutes, or until it reduces to your liking. {I let mine get pretty thick, because I like a thicker sauce, but you can leave it a little runnier, especially if you would like to use as a marinade}. Remove from heat and stir in lemon juice.
  5. Season filets with salt and pepper and place on a foil lined baking sheet, brush with some of the glaze and roast in a preheated 400 degree oven for 4 minutes. Remove, brush again with more glaze and roast for 5-10 minutes more, or until salmon is cooked through and flakes easily with a fork. Set aside to cool for 5-10 minutes. Top the filets with remaining glaze and serve.
  6. Refrigerate any unused sauce for up to 3 weeks.

Makes 6 servings.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Terrylee permalink
    November 3, 2011 1:28 pm

    I can vouch that this was hands down the best salmon ‘ve ever had. It made Davis St.Fish Market pale in comparison. I actually felt ripped off when I had their salmon 2 days later.

  2. Amber permalink
    November 8, 2011 11:39 am

    This looks so good. I love pomegranate and love incorporating it in savory dishes too.

    • November 8, 2011 12:22 pm

      Then you will LOVE the next pomegranate dish I’m going to post… I’m salivating just thinking about it!

  3. December 13, 2011 8:17 am

    I finally got around to making this and it was fantastic! So much so that I had to share with my legions of adoring fans and groupies (okay, 3 faithful readers), but never fear, I linked up to you because credit was definitely due! Thanks for the great recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. Sweet Potato, Bacon, and Pomegranate Salad « thebitesizedbaker

Leave a Reply

