Skip to content

Vanilla Latte

August 11, 2011

I am an avid coffee drinker, and by coffee drinker, I mean, I slurp up sugary Vanilla Lattes like water. Unfortunately, my college lifestyle doesn’t permit a daily purchase of $5.19 from my local Starbucks (dumb Illinois tax!). But alas, there was a solution! No, I’m not talking about an expensive espresso machine that breaks two months after purchasing. I’m talking about an authentic, stovetop espresso maker—the Bialetti Moka Express.

I absolutely love my Bialetti and I use it every day. It’s simple to use, small, and portable. If you’re like me and crave Starbucks 24/7, I suggest purchasing a ½ pound of espresso from your local Starbucks (ground for espresso, if you don’t have a coffee grinder), Starbucks vanilla syrup, and any type of milk, depending on your preference. I also recommend buying an Aerolatte milk frother if you decide to make a hot drink—lattes must have foam!

If you need your coffee fix in the morning before you’re able to function, I highly recommend you give this homemade Vanilla Latte recipe a try. It’s simple and easy to use, as demonstrated by my step-by-step guide to making your very own Starbucks Vanilla Latte. It’s become a routine for me and I can’t go a day without it. Besides, who wouldn’t love saving $160.89 per month, by reducing daily Starbucks purchases? I know I would!

Iced Vanilla Latte by the Bite-Sized Baker:

2 oz. water

2 tablespoons espresso

1 tablespoon vanilla syrup (You can use 2, but 1 is sweet enough for me)

1 ½ cups milk (I use Vanilla Soy Milk)

  1. Fill bottom part with cold water, for exceptional espresso taste
  2. Place filter basket over bottom part
  3. Fill the filter basket ground espresso
  4. Place the top of the espresso pot onto the bottom part, screw tightly into place
  5. Set the espresso pot over high heat with the lid closed (make sure your plastic handle is not directly over the heat!)
  6. Let the pot heat for 3-4 minutes until the espresso pours out of the center spout and stops bubbling and splashing (Kind of like the popcorn method)
  7. While the espresso is brewing, pour vanilla syrup into a large glass cup.
  8. Pour brewed espresso over vanilla syrup and place in freezer to cool for 15-20 minutes.
  9. Once espresso is cooled, pour milk directly over espresso and vanilla syrup and add ice cubes.
Hot Vanilla Latte by the Bite-Sized Baker:

2 oz. water

2 tablespoons espresso

1 tablespoon vanilla syrup (You can use 2, but 1 is sweet enough for me)

1 ½ cups milk (I use Vanilla Soy Milk)

  1. Fill bottom part with cold water, for exceptional espresso taste
  2. Place filter basket over bottom part
  3. Fill the filter basket ground espresso
  4. Place the top of the espresso pot onto the bottom part, screw tightly into place
  5. Set the espresso pot over high heat with the lid closed (make sure your plastic handle is not directly over the heat!)
  6. Let the pot heat for 3-4 minutes until the espresso pours out of the center spout and stops bubbling and splashing (Kind of like the popcorn method)
  7. While the espresso is brewing, pour milk into a microwave safe mug and heat for 2 minutes, depending on your microwave
  8. After milk is steamed, use a milk frother until milk is frothy/foamy, about 30 seconds
  9. Pour brewed espresso over vanilla syrup in a large ceramic mug
  10. Using a large spoon to keep the foam from being poured, pour milk directly over espresso and syrup
  11. Spoon out the remaining foam and place on top of latte

Is there anything you must do every morning to start your day off right?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2012 1:36 pm

    Mmmh I love fresh coffee like this…I have one of these and will now have to go and purchse some syrup and tried making my own iced ones…yummy..xx

  2. Tanya permalink
    October 27, 2012 8:48 pm

    Im so trying this recipe thank you for it. Ill save so much money!!! Im gonna order me the bialetti moka. What size is yours? Wasnt sure if the smallest size 1cup big enough. Thanks in advance

    • November 7, 2012 6:50 pm

      I apologize for not getting back to you earlier! The 1-cup works great for me because it comes out to be one shot, but if you’re a caffeine feign or making lattes for two, you might have better luck with a bigger size!

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Chip Cookie and Caramel-Peanut Butter Bars « thebitesizedbaker

Leave a Reply

