Skip to content

Jalapeño-Pepper Jack Cheese Stuffed Burgers

July 5, 2011

Once upon a time, I was a vegetarian. **Correction, I was a vegetarian for seven years of my life before a little voice went off inside my head… I would like to call this voice, my own, “voice of reason.” But in reality, it was my little, well, BIG hunk of a Kansan-man-boyfriend, asking me a simple question of why I was a vegetarian.

Seemingly straightforward question, right? But I realized after moments of spilling over silly answers, like, “steak takes too long to chew,” that I didn’t actually have a reason for becoming a vegetarian in the first place, not to mention, a reason for remaining a vegetarian for the past seven years… Well, besides the most honest, yet superficial reason, “I wanted to be some girl’s best friend in elementary school so I tried to be exactly like her.” (But that reason was invalid now and not something I would voluntarily share with anyone who asked!)

Anyway, with a newfound outlook on vegetarianism, I came to the conclusion that remaining a vegetarian was not in my best interest at the present time… the overwhelming aroma and sheer presence of Chicken Parmesan didn’t help my case, either ;)….

So I went over to the dark side… And you know what? I am never going back!

As a tribute to meat, grease, BBQs, and all that is ‘Merican. I hereby introduce you to Jalapeño-Pepper Jack Cheese Stuffed Burgers. Enjoy… Maybe add some bacon for me, we have a lot of lost time to make up for.

Makes 6 Servings

Stuffed Burgers recipe by The Bite-Sized Baker:

2 ½ pounds ground beef

1 egg

1 medium onion, chopped

1 jalapeno, diced and seeded

3-4 cloves of garlic, minced

¼ cup breadcrumbs

¼ cup BBQ sauce

2 tablespoons chipotle in adobo sauce

2 teaspoons garlic salt

1 teaspoon chili powder

Salt and pepper, to taste

6 slices of pepper jack cheese

Burger Garnishes (Optional)

2 beefsteak tomatoes, sliced

Peppered watercress

Guacamole

Chipotle mayo

6 burger buns, toasted

  1. In a large mixing bowl, break up ground beef with hands. Add egg, chopped onion, jalapeno, garlic, breadcrumbs, BBQ sauce, chipotle in adobo sauce, and season with salt and pepper until thoroughly incorporated.
  2. Divide the meat into 12 even thin patties, about ½ inch thick. Place one slice of cheese in the center of 6 patties. Top each patty with another patty and seal the edges.
  3. Grill burgers over medium-high heat, flipping once until cooked through.
  4. Serve burgers in toasted buns with desired garnishes.
Leave a Reply

